Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
We stayed there for 3 days. Staff was helpful and changed rooms for us, since the room was noisy and smelled smoke. Rooms in the 5th floor tend to be less noisy. Location is good, 30 min walk from Sultanamet. Enjoyed the stay, though I would like to have stayed closer to Sultanmeht.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SINGAPORE

Mediocre lodgings

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
Close to the Valens Aquaduct but far from the main tourist attractions like Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya (you can still walk or take the tram which is just a few stops away). I am not used to the tipping 'culture' and gave the hotel help 2 TLR but he signaled for another TLR after doing some 'stretching' of his arms due to carrying our stuffs. I found this funny. Hotel is actually quite old. The wood decor in our room needs refurbishing. The wireless Internet access is slow and cumbersome to connect to as each room occupant is given a specific password to gain access. I have never like carpeted floors and the reason is that it makes the room feel dingy and dark, with a kind of smell which needs a day to clear (or adjusted to) and this was what I experienced at Black Bird. The air-conditioning didn't help in the beginning as it was difficult to control. The toilet is rather old but nevertheless functioning. As a result, we didn't dare to ask for room service. The breakfast spread is a pretty standard fare and I cannot complain. The silver lining in my stay in this hotel is perhaps the location as it is further from the main tourist areas of Sultanahmet, it lets you experience how the people go through their daily hustle and bustle.
4 out of 5
by Griff from Stockton on Tees

Noisy neighbours

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is modern and clean. The service is good but it is a noisy neighbourhood. The streets were loud and the nearby mosque woke me at 6 a.m. It is a good three quarters of a mile to the tourist areas and the walk there is a little intimidating in places. I would probably choose a different hotel next time, purely because of the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ingeborg from Albany, OR, USA

Acceptable

Posted Jun 5, 2012
Pros: the room itself
Cons: dining room
Location: After a 10 min. walk one can catch the tram to reach Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and other tourist site, including the Grand Bazar and Spice Bazar.
Noisy location, the multiple calls to prayer at 11PM and at 4:30AM are VERY LOUD. The air conditioner works only part of the day. The hotel room was acceptable. The food selection was limited and some of the sliced cheeses had curled up edges due to age.Service was slow. Breakfast is scheduled for 7 AM but does not start until 7:15. Dinner is scheduled for 7:30PM and does not start until 8PM. This so-called four-star hotel fell way short of the five-star hotels I stayed in in Istanbul and in the rest of Turkey.
1 out of 5
by Meir from NEW YORK CITY

DO NOT GO DO NOT GO,, THIS HOTEL IS 1.5 STARS OR SHORT STAY HOTEL

Posted Aug 18, 2010
we arrived to hotel and room was with not working air cond. thy chnge my room and air cond stop working at 11.30pm, thy replace our room to a defrent room air cond stop working at 4am we call and thy give us a fan, next day we got defrent room air cond stop working 12pm we call thy say the rooms durty we have to stay with this room, we left the hotel to defrent hotel THIS HOTEL IS 1.5 STARS OR SHORT STAY HOTEL.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from istanbul

noisy not impress

Posted Mar 9, 2008 on Hotels
it was noisy disco underneath till 3 am and they were doing works inside hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Biloxi, Ms

Not Impressed

Posted Oct 10, 2007
For a 4 star rated hotel was disappointed that no one spoke english. One guy at the desk did barely. Restaurant extremely disappointing. Internet only available in the lobby not the rooms as it says in description. Beds are hard as a rock. Not too far from tram stop but it is an uphill walk to get back. Water was brownish
4 out of 5
by Mohamed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bon rapport quqlite prix

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
sejour agreable et convivial