Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Believe the bad reviews

Posted Apr 9, 2017
If you are considering staying here,read the bad reviews,as they are all true. If you are still thinking of booking,book for a night at a time with free cancellation-you wont want to stay more than 1 night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear David, Your recommendation of booking "a night at a time" puzzles me. This is what you did, booked for 1 night at a time for a week. You were clearly unsatisfied but remained in our dorm, contrary to your own recommendation - so something must have kept you here. Perhaps you found it so vile that you felt the need to brave the whole week so you could leave review after review expressing your dissatisfaction? (your only problem seems to be with the slight smell in the toilets which which has since been resolved). Most of our guests are happy with the accommodation they receive however it is understandable that some are not, this is normal in any accommodation including 5 star resorts. Should any of our guests decide they would like to leave our hotel before the end of their booked stay, an effort is made to find a suitable compromise and this is usually agreeable by both parties.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from living in Australia

Jungle room in the middle of jungle

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Jungle room ridicusly far from the main area of the hotel and beach / live side. Price for scooter 150bath/day minimum. I requested to change it and they 'kindly' gave me a room in a central location. the same night I realised to be above a club - and noisy as much as inside the club (of course no double glass window)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Elena, Apologies if you did not appreciate your stay stay with us. Regarding the first room, forgive me but I'm not sure what you're referring to as it is very easy to get around the hotel and to the beach, which is a positive many of our guests note. Whenever possible we try to accommodate our guests' requests to the best of our abilities however during very busy times of the year this may not always be possible, so once again I offer apologies if we were not able to satisfy any additional requests.
4 out of 5
by Chai

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
The resort near to the beach, the room was clean. Restaurants, bars and shops all within a few minute walk . The staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful . Overall the resort is good place to stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Chai, Thank you very much for your kind words. Was nice having you here and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Rich Resort is a great place to hang out. The location is close to shopping the beach and restaurants. This was our second stay and both times we've stayed a month.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Penelope, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Was great having you here and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No head room

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Book a capsule &if you get given a top bunk,you are in for a more uncomfortable stay than you have if you get a lower bunk. The dorm is not in the main building but across the road & above a bar which plays loud music from 8.00 til the early hours. The dorm has a pitched roof,so those in the top bunk get head height restrictions. But dont worry too much as both upper/lower bunks get to be kept awake by the pounding music from the bar below. Have stayed in many budget places but this is by far the worst,toilets&showers just smell vile,regardless of the newly installed air fresheners. No other dorm I have stayed at in Malaysia or Thailand has smelt so bad-the management blame the toilet users when it is actually the plumbing system itself-toilet paper would cause blockages,there were no blockages during my stay but the smell was there. The only excuse-this is a budget resort,then please advertise the facts of the smell that are there and see how many bookings you get!?
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear 'Anon', Thank you for taking the time to leave your review (one of many). Apologies you were not happy with your stay here. The air fresheners were installed as per your request, even though you were told they wouldn't make a difference. The slight smell only seemed to bother you during the stay and just from the positive feedback alone, one can easily see the majority of our guests are happy with what they receive. Yes we are a budget hotel, but you seem to have taken it out of context. As was explained, during the time of your stay we were at full capacity in both the hotel and dormitory, a closure of the dormitory's bathrooms & showers would have caused a major disruption and certainly more problems than the slight smell which was present.
5 out of 5
by Kristine

Perfect!

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hostel was great. Great price. Great location right on the beach with a pool. I'm a 51 year old female travelling solo. Stayed here for a week. Was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017
Hi Kristine, Thank you so much for your review. Was a pleasure having you and I wish you the best of luck in your travels and your future move to Thailand!
4 out of 5
by Kayla

Last minute booking life saver

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
We were staying on Koh Phangan at a not very nice resort and booked a room at Rich very last minute! This place was like heaven compared to the shack we were in on KP! The location is awesome, rooms are HUGE and the staff are super friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Kayla, Thanks so much for your kind words. We really appreciate it when our guests have a pleasent stay at our hotel. Thanks again for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Thailand!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Nice hotel and good bar across the road.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Excellent service at both places hotel and bar across the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Hi Shane, Thanks very much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Best location for bugdet rooms

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
This place really could not be any closer to the beautiful Lamai beach. With its own beach side bar and restaurant and sunbeds on the beach, you really couldn't pick a better value for money hotel. OK, the rooms are basic, with little natural light, but they are clean and comfortable with a safe, TV, reasonable wifi, air-conditioning and fan. The staff are friendly and helpful and always on hand with excursion and transport bookings. The Bars and restaurants are a 3 minute walk away, where the choice is fantastic for such a small place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our budget beachside hotel. Thanks for noting the value and the proximity to the beach and nearby amenities. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and we'd love to welcome you back on your next visit to Koh Samui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great for the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Right next to beach, comfy beds, fridge in rooms, supplied shampoo and soap. Great breakfssttt accross the st owned by same ppl 109 baht pick 3 items
Cons: Nothing was great!
Location: Beach beach beach beach. On strip of places for food. Temples. Lots of tours if got the money
Was easy check in, was on main floor so didn't have to climb. Supplied you with soap and shampoo everyday and toilet paper.. hot water.. then found a cockroach later that night when we came back... then another .. and anther... and anther....so 4 total. We flushed em. had no food in the room, but it didn't bother me.. but my friend kept having nightmares bout them.. funny.. but I guess not funny lol.. talked to multiple ppl that where staying there and we wer the only one with roaches, so maybe ppl b4 us had food in room. Never saw anymore after 2 day.. extended stay 5 more days.bed was softer than last few places we stayed..and being right next to the beach made everything worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Hi Kayleen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate guests' feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. With regards to cockroaches, we thoroughly clean and disinfect all our rooms to prevent this from happening and I can assure you this is not a common occurrence. Nevertheless I'm glad you didn't let this ruin your holiday and were able to enjoy your time with us. Thanks again and hope to have you back on your next visit to Thailand!