Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, right on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2017
The hotel is lovely. The restaurant staff here were so friendly and fun. The condition of the place was comfortable and clean and right on the beach. Fire show every night. 100% would stay again!!
5 out of 5
by Karen

we were thoroughly satisfied.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
the staff at rich resort made sure we had a wonderful stay. At first our room was not suitable due to a water leak and when they were made aware of this, the immediately offered a better room. Front desk staff offered linformation when requested but also made suggestions about events we didnt know to even ask about. Matt, at the front desk, helped us plan a lovely day of snorkeling as well as other facets of our trip....always willing to take the time to answer questions. The women at the front desk always greeeted us with smiles and attention. And the location is excelleht....right on the beach. I would highly recommend rich resort to any traveller.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
Thanks for your great review Karen, was a pleasure having you here with us and we hope to see you again next time you're in Koh Samui!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the double capsule and enjoyed our stay. Pools nice and on the beach there are nice sunbeds to use. About 3 min walk to the restaurants and bars. One problem we had was that the capsules get quite hot as aircon cant get in and our one seemed a lot smaller on top than everyone elses! Only odd thing that happened was a girl travelling by herself came in and started begging everyone to have s3x with her??? Otherwise everyone was really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on a future visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great location... beach front is great... interesting sleeping in the capsule, but good for how cheap it is!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Believe the bad reviews

Posted Apr 9, 2017
If you are considering staying here,read the bad reviews,as they are all true. If you are still thinking of booking,book for a night at a time with free cancellation-you wont want to stay more than 1 night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear David, Your recommendation of booking "a night at a time" puzzles me. This is what you did, booked for 1 night at a time for a week. You were clearly unsatisfied but remained in our dorm, contrary to your own recommendation - so something must have kept you here. Perhaps you found it so vile that you felt the need to brave the whole week so you could leave review after review expressing your dissatisfaction? (your only problem seems to be with the slight smell in the toilets which which has since been resolved). Most of our guests are happy with the accommodation they receive however it is understandable that some are not, this is normal in any accommodation including 5 star resorts. Should any of our guests decide they would like to leave our hotel before the end of their booked stay, an effort is made to find a suitable compromise and this is usually agreeable by both parties.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from living in Australia

Jungle room in the middle of jungle

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Jungle room ridicusly far from the main area of the hotel and beach / live side. Price for scooter 150bath/day minimum. I requested to change it and they 'kindly' gave me a room in a central location. the same night I realised to be above a club - and noisy as much as inside the club (of course no double glass window)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Elena, Apologies if you did not appreciate your stay stay with us. Regarding the first room, forgive me but I'm not sure what you're referring to as it is very easy to get around the hotel and to the beach, which is a positive many of our guests note. Whenever possible we try to accommodate our guests' requests to the best of our abilities however during very busy times of the year this may not always be possible, so once again I offer apologies if we were not able to satisfy any additional requests.
4 out of 5
by Chai

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
The resort near to the beach, the room was clean. Restaurants, bars and shops all within a few minute walk . The staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful . Overall the resort is good place to stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Chai, Thank you very much for your kind words. Was nice having you here and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Rich Resort is a great place to hang out. The location is close to shopping the beach and restaurants. This was our second stay and both times we've stayed a month.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Penelope, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Was great having you here and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No head room

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Book a capsule &if you get given a top bunk,you are in for a more uncomfortable stay than you have if you get a lower bunk. The dorm is not in the main building but across the road & above a bar which plays loud music from 8.00 til the early hours. The dorm has a pitched roof,so those in the top bunk get head height restrictions. But dont worry too much as both upper/lower bunks get to be kept awake by the pounding music from the bar below. Have stayed in many budget places but this is by far the worst,toilets&showers just smell vile,regardless of the newly installed air fresheners. No other dorm I have stayed at in Malaysia or Thailand has smelt so bad-the management blame the toilet users when it is actually the plumbing system itself-toilet paper would cause blockages,there were no blockages during my stay but the smell was there. The only excuse-this is a budget resort,then please advertise the facts of the smell that are there and see how many bookings you get!?
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear 'Anon', Thank you for taking the time to leave your review (one of many). Apologies you were not happy with your stay here. The air fresheners were installed as per your request, even though you were told they wouldn't make a difference. The slight smell only seemed to bother you during the stay and just from the positive feedback alone, one can easily see the majority of our guests are happy with what they receive. Yes we are a budget hotel, but you seem to have taken it out of context. As was explained, during the time of your stay we were at full capacity in both the hotel and dormitory, a closure of the dormitory's bathrooms & showers would have caused a major disruption and certainly more problems than the slight smell which was present.
5 out of 5
by Kristine

Perfect!

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hostel was great. Great price. Great location right on the beach with a pool. I'm a 51 year old female travelling solo. Stayed here for a week. Was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017
Hi Kristine, Thank you so much for your review. Was a pleasure having you and I wish you the best of luck in your travels and your future move to Thailand!