Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel just out of the hustle & bustle of Lamai

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
SB is located within walking distance to the centre of Lamai on the beach. The hotel is clean & staff are very friendly. I was upgraded to an executive suite which was very spacious & would be great if traveling with children. This room also has access to a private pool. The beds were very hard & staff did add a topper on the bed to make this more bearable. The rooms are dark & hv a musky smell. There had been a lot of rain & no doubt this caused the smell. Overall the hotel was good but could be improved with maintenance to the building to make it better. I like staying in this location & there are plenty of taxis & shuttles passing by to go to chaweng or Lamai if you don't feel like walking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

chilled hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Beutiful hotel could do with a little updating but this was happening as i was there. Had own private pool villa which was nice. Staff didnt understand english very well and service was a little hit and miss. Overall i would definately recommend this place for a quiet relaxed atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

No charm and not comfortable.

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The exterior, grounds and pool.
Cons: The damp smell in the room. The hideously hard and uncomfortable beds. The bath plug didn't work. The shower was badly positioned and fell down.
Location: The beach towards the left of the hotel is nicer... It is a long walk to the right side to find a nice spot of beach.
After paying extra for a sea view room, we were shown our rooms. Upon entering the rooms, there was a damp smell. They had a poor corner view of the ocean and we were told that we had to pay even more extra if we wanted a 'deluxe' sea view room. The rooms were minimally furnished lacking in an sense of charm. Upon trying the bed, the mattress was extremely hard, like lying on wood. Later after complaining, the staff came up with an extra mattress that they placed on the bed to soften the experience. It didn't really fit, but it made it more comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Caitlin from Sydney

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Was fairly disappointed in our stay as we had about 15 chinese tourists in the room next to ours constantly smoking. Our room smelt like a smoke house and we had to move. Not once were they asked to stop smoking in the rooms even though there are multiple signs in each room saying no smoking fines apply. Food at the restaurant was very disappointing and it always felt like the staff thought the guests were an inconvenience. Location is good and there are some good restaurants at other hotels nearby.
4 out of 5
by Simon from London

Enjoyed our stay however not the best value for mo

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderfully located on lamai beach (although you need to walk up the beach a bit if you want to swim in the sea). Nice pool and outdoor area with beautiful plants. Rooms were not like the photos online (photos must be from when brand new,which it is definitely not now!). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made it a very pleasant stay. Breakfast was nothing special. Considering the hotel was quite empty we we're disappointed not to be moved into a different room on request as the road is very noisy (would not recommend the cheapest rooms on the road side). Overall we really enjoyed our three night stay here however we feel it was probably not the best value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing it was horrible.
Cons: Staff need to understand customer service
Location: Beach is not swimmable and it is a 20 minute walk to the main area of Laimai where the beach is swimmable.
worst hotel I've ever had the mispleasure to stay in anywhere in the world. No swimmable beach despite misleading pictures. No water the swimming pool. Staff were horrible no understanding of customer service whatsoever. Finally bed was like sleeping on a bed of bricks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
We enjoyed a relaxing week at the hotel. The restaurant had great food and the pool was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the view. Above all, the amazing staff took great care of us.
5 out of 5
by Azadi from Kurdistan

Value for money

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
One of the best "value for money" stays in Lamai
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably better around

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Hotel grounds were very nice Quiet location Price
Cons: Air conditioning was terrible and took over an hour to cool the room down suitably. Airport taxi that did not arrive.
Location: A good 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Lamai.
- Taxi did not arrive at the airport as booked. - Staff knew little about the area as were "only working there for a couple of months". - Air conditioning was terrible in rooms.
2 out of 5
by boujie

probably used to be great

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Orbitz
only stayed here b/c we got a good rate and the place looked luxurious from outside. inside has all the trappings of a great hotel, but the little things let it down. the hot tub bubbles don't work. the beds are rock hard. the floors are cracked. everything just felt dilapidated, a hanger actually fell apart in my hands. at one time, probably 10 years ago, i'm sure this hotel was stellar. now, not so much.