Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by prq from uk

Run down and damp

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
staff we're helpful and that was the only good point. Rooms damp and smelly. food very poor and general condition of the place not good. Very disappointing considering how much we payed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and friendly staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and good location. Right on the beach for a nice morning walk / run / swim
5 out of 5
by Gary from Guildford

My favourite hotel so far...

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is absolutely wonderful. Don't believe some of the reviews on here. Honestly, I think some people just live to complain! Firstly, the staff in reception are absolutely lovely, and they could not be more welcoming. The hotel offers no Hassel motorbike hire, and all kinds of tours in and around samui. The food in the restaurant is delicious, and served right next to the beach. The beach is lovely and so is the pool area, again right on the beach. We stayed in a standard bungalow with garden view. This is one of the lower budget rooms but you still get a partial sea view. The place is just paradise. There is a market near by selling all kinds of food. Lamai centre is a 10 minute stroll along the beach and has more than enough in the way of bars, restaurants and shops, and crystal beach 2km up the coast road is off the scale. We will definitely stay here again. For the price, this hotel packs a real punch. 10/10.
5 out of 5
by Danilo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Decent hotel, I really liked the big windows and the bathtub design. The beach right in front of the hotel ain't good so you gotta walk a bit to find a stone-free, clean stretch.
5 out of 5
by Alanna

PERFECT bungalow resort right on Lamai Beach

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Easily one of the best places I stayed in SE Asia: top 3. Already decided when I come back, this is where im staying. Words like "Bungalow", "Boutique", "Villa" spring to mind. Spent 4 days there, and could've easily spent a week. Its literally on the beach (with own private beach chairs if you wish), but up at the top of Lamai beach so not crowded AT ALL like some of the resorts in the middle. About a 5 min walk down the beach to the middle of the strip with the restaurants & shops. The little bungalow rooms are absolutely adorable, inside and out. Huge comfy bed, sweet sunken bathtub/shower, aircon, WiFi, and the pool..... oh, the pool. Surrounded by frangipani trees and beautiful flowers, overlooking the beach. They have a pool bar and its right next to the restaurant. I spent about 7 hours there one day. The staff was very accommodating, they upgraded my room, and let me stow my luggage and use the pool after check out while waiting for my flight. The whole vibe of the resort was just perfect & I cant wait to come back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Attractive if run-down budget hotel on the beach

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Beach-front location, big rooms, good price, pleasant bar and pool.
Cons: Rooms and facilities overall needs an overhaul and better maintenance. Lighting and paintwork review by a professional designer. More proactive staff.
Sand Sea is right on Lamai Beach with bar and pool, and some of the bungalows available looking out onto the beach itself. It's a good location, with decently-sized rooms and an attractive garden. At time of writing (2016/5 and off-season) the quality of facility upkeep was not great -- reception area sometimes has a sewage smell, room air conditioner was very loud clearly in need of maintenance, a nail poking out of the floorboards, repaints of parts of the rooms and reception in seemingly random ugly colours, bright fluorescent lighting -- these are a few examples. I also found the staff to be unusually apathetic; not unfriendly nor unhelpful, just not as cheerful and eager as other places I've visited. This list sounds worse than it is -- it's not a luxury hotel by any means, but for budget travelers this is a decent option (note I visited off-season so prices would be higher in peak season).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great place to relax, next to beach, close to nigh

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Great service, good clean pool, quiet sleep
Cons: Deep tub functions as a shower cubicle rather than a tub
Location: On the beach, walkable to local restaurants
Stayed 23-Feb-2015 for 2 nights in superior room A-11 with breakfast, large bungalow. 2 tiny v.strong lady porters took our heavy bags to our rooms. No safe in room, but centrally located safety deposit boxes with 2*keys. Very deep stone bathtub, however, unable to fill it as couldn't plug it. Showers in tub were good. Didn't think it wise to have the light switch over the bath or the second switch next to the wash basin. Beautiful large pool, cleaned in the morning at 7:45am for 40 mins. Standard breakfast, but great views eating it in the restaurant on the beach. We rented a motorbike from the hotel with no problems. No telephone in room, so asked at reception for late checkout, however it was declines as they were full. Paid for hotel minivan to take us to our next hotel in Lamai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, and good environment

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Cons: traffic is not easy to stranger
traffic is not easy to stranger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot to relax

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Room and beds were very comfortable, the beach it's on is great for swimming and not too crowded. The staff were amazing and the restaurant on the beach had great cheap food