Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay $15 more and go somewhere else

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
The tub didn't drain, so we showered in nasty standing water. The desk person was scratching his nuts while coming out of the back room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel was doing some remodeling evidently. Bathtubs, sheetrock, etc was stacked out in front of hotel. Tacky!! Room had just been painted & luggage rack was stuck to the painted wall. There was loud sounds of construction & when I asked when it would stop, the front desk person said 5:00. It didn't quit at 5:00!! I called to the front desk two separate times to complain about the noise and was told each time it would quit right then. They actually stopped hammering, sawing, drilling, stomping on floor, dropping things about 11:45 pm. Horrible place to stay!! Will probably NEVER stay in a Super 8 motel again!An
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly and uncomfortable by the highway

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Bed was terrible. Room smelled like cheap perfume used to cover an even worse smell. Shower curtain was so sour we never showered because of it. Worst hotel of our 10 night US journey by far. Paid 100 Canadian, which was 90 too much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Awful stay. They didn't even have an ice bucket

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The AC didn't work. The ice bucket was missing and the person at the desk could only give me a plastic bag. The room didn't have a desk. The shower was dirty. I will never stay here again. Lamar is a small town but I will never go here again. Awful!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay extra and stay at the other hotels

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Not that great of a hotel. The room hadn't been stayed in for quite a while. The towels had stains on them making you wonder if they had been washed. The coffee creamer and things for coffee provided in the room had gone bad. The water while taking a shower fluctuated from hot to cold every few seconds. At least the beds were clean to sleep in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: Room price first shown $44-discounted (on Orbitz), but hotel check-in receipt something like $67, and total eventually charged to my card was $81-why?
Location: Good restaurants downtown, liked the Thai place next to the still-active train station.
Value for money. The motel may be a bit past its prime, but looks like an upgrade of the lobby facilities is in progress. The room was clean and had the basic necessities.
2 out of 5
by Daniel from Denver

Lamar

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
The tv never worked and the toilet was kid size seat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not brand new but nice

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness. It smelled clean and looked clean! The staff was friendly!
Cons: Hot water. If used when not a lot of activity in motel it's fine. If active fluctuates. Locks on rooms, secondary lock didn't latch. Bar barely..
Friends and ourselves was a little worried considering other reviews. We were going to be in Lamar for an extended period of time, July 7-15, 2016. So we needed a place that was reasonably priced which this one was considering the choices in Lamar. We came prepared with cleaning supplies and some bedding things just in case. Those things never even had to come out of the car. The motel is not brand new but it's not falling down either. The lobby and rooms appeared and smelled clean. The staff was friendly. At one point our group occupied 4 different rooms. 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs. No one had any complaints about cleanliness. The carpet is on the older side but it wasn't disgusting. The hallway to the rooms is a little warm but your not staying in the hallway. The breakfast is pretty much typical continental breakfast we didn't really use much of. Our last few days they were redoing the breakfast area so I'm sure it will be improved soon. The beds at first we thought would be a little firm but we actually slept good! If you want a newer place then Holiday Inn Express is right next door and you'll pay for the newness as well. =) The locks on the room door do need to be better. The secondary lock on ours did not latch. One night our room was re-rented, the bar just barely kept them from entering our room. They did apologize for the mistake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels