Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lamar, CO

Clean, affordable hotel.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient stop for an overnight on the way to visit our son in Denver. More affordable than most other hotels in the area.
Cons: The attitude of the desk clerk.
Location: Don’t really know about area. We just needed a place to sleep on our trip from Northeast Texas to Denver.
Common areas were nicely decorated for Christmas. Very inviting. Spacious room with good flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Bathroom could use a little updating. The desk clerk who checked me in was not very welcoming. Kind of like I was taking up too much of his time. Our room only had one wash cloth and one tiny bar of soap for the two of us. When I asked for another soap and cloth, he rummaged around and found me soap but said there would be no more wash cloths until the maid came in the next morning. He didn’t seem overly concerned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, It was a pleasure to serve you during your recent stay and great to know that while you were here, you enjoyed our beautifully decorated common areas, well-appointed rooms, and affordable pricing. We apologize if you did not receive the attentive, courteous service from our front desk team that we're known for and will review your report with our team to ensure you are met with a more accommodating attitude next time. We hope you had a safe trip to Denver and enjoyed spending quality time with your son. Come back anytime and thanks for the valuable feedback.
2 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The price was right. The room was okay - smelled a little musty. Hall ways were dirty and carpet was shabby. Staff was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Lamar, Colorado! It was a pleasure to host and serve you, and we greatly appreciate that you left such kind words for our helpful staff. We are also delighted that you felt as though you received good value, an important aspect of any stay. We are very sorry that your room had a musty smell and that you experienced our hallways at a time when they were not at their best. We will be looking into this right away to ensure that this is corrected. Thanks again for choosing us, and please come back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sawyer,Ks

Didn't have a room for me

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Checked in went to room and it was occupied. No other rooms available for the entire weekend and was turned away after refunding my money. Ended up staying in cockroach motel. So much for making 6 weeks in advance to assure a resveration. Back to Bestwestern I go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Don, We are terribly dismayed to read that there was a mix-up on our end with your reservation. Please accept our sincerest apology as this is not typical of the high standards that we set forth to accomplish. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again so we may have the opportunity to accommodate your needs and deliver an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jesse

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings, NE

Awful smells

Posted Sep 25, 2017
My first room smelled of urine & had stains on floor & bed. I requested a change. It unfortunately was not any better. Musty smell, tree fresheners in the vents, broken tile in bathroom- not clean. Awful!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. Your input is valuable to us. Please accept our apologies that the condition of your guest room did not meet your expectations or our standards. We will speak with the housekeeping staff about the cleanliness of guest rooms and fix the issues quickly. The satisfaction of our guests is of great importance. We would appreciate the opportunity to host you again and deliver the first-rate experience you deserve. Please come back and see us when you return to Lamar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not maintained

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I don't mind old hotels but I do mind if they are not clean. There was water running from the roof to the parking lot non stop creating a huge mossy puddle outside our room and the room smelled like mildew and must. There was a dirty washcloth left in the bathroom. There were dead bugs in the sink and on the counter and the room had flies, moths, beetles and spiders. There was hair on the table by the bed and only 1 small towel hanging on the rack. The water in the sink barely worked and tasted horrible. We would have left but all other hotels were sold out. Not a comfortable night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to read that you did not have the experience you expected or deserved. The issues with cleanliness that you detailed are unacceptable and not reflective of the standards that we strive to uphold. Although we are an older property, we are working to give our guests the convenience of a modern experience. Your review will be an opportunity for us to learn from our mistakes. Please consider us for another stay so that you can witness our improvements.
3 out of 5
by Donald T

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels