Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
One of the cleanest hotels with an incredibly attentive & friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Modern hotel in vineyard with river views

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous river / vineyard views, nearby hiking, clean and modern, good food/service. Champagne at breakfast; very relaxing
Cons: Shower head was too high for short people. Menu should include more vegetarian options.
Location: Gorgeous scenery but not within walking distance of towns, restaurants, many hiking trails. Need a car unless you book tours. Boat and vineyard tours
Great place to relax after a week of strenuous hiking around Sintra. No car and nearest towns require walking many miles along a highway so ate all our meals at hotel. Great breakfast with champagne, good variety of tapas and nice but limited dinner menu. Beautiful countryside for hilly hiking among vineyards and river walks. Spent 2 nights/3 days and would love to go back.
5 out of 5
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Surprisingly great!

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
I had a wonderful, but short stay. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and it was really tasty. My room had an amazing view of the valley. I was blown away by how great it was.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, canada

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Service, food, setting Views great. Tranquil place on top of terraced hills of vines in autumn
Cons: Lighting in room not bright enough to read Too far out of place with restaurants to eat if you have wine with meals but hotel food delicious
Location: Drive 30 minutes to take a. Pat trip on the Douro river. Awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Fabulously located hotel in the Douro Valley

Posted Sep 20, 2016
This was as about as perfect a stay as possible. Every staff member we encountered were polite friendly helpful and spoke great English especially the ladies at the front desk. The views of the river valley are breathtaking and it was within a 35 minute drive of every vineyard visited. The one nit I would have pointed out was that it lacked a gym but we heard they intend to put one in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK, Canada

Visit to the Douro Valley

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The view from the hotel is extraordinary! Quiet, comfortable and clean room. All rooms face the river and valley. Breakfast had many choices..hot and cold - excellent. Very friendly, caring and helpful staff. Good parking. Enjoyed a drink on the patio each evening. All that we needed and wanted!
5 out of 5
by Peter from Brant Rock MA

The best of the Douro

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in the middle of a vineyard overlooking the Douro river. The views are spectacular. The staff is multi lingual and nearly all speak English. Service is impeccable. The meals are both a bargain (28 Euro for a prix fix 3 course) and amazingly good. There is a great pool and a fantastic bar. The bar tender understands how and why to pour a drink. Try all of the local wines from the comfort of the deck. All in all a great hotel. Don't mind the floor to ceiling windows which include the bathroom.