Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a spectacular resort. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff is always there to attend to your every need.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning property and perfect service

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Perfection for a hard to please customer...will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great. The Douro Valley is a must-visit in Portugal!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

The most relaxing holiday I have ever had

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: well-designed, surrounded by beautiful grounds
Location: in the Douro Valley, Portugal which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Lots of vineyards to take tours of and sample wine and port
From the minute we were picked up from the airport (arrangements made by the hotel) we felt relaxed and very well looked after. It was just the antidote to my daughter's stressful time having finished GCSEs recently.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and wonderful setting

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very swish resort and good value. And amazing location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London and Texas

Wonderful hotel in stunning location

Posted May 16, 2016
This is a fantastic hotel staffed with very nice people who are genuine and welcoming. The location is wonderful. Two things, if attended to, would complete this hotel and make it the true 5 Star hotel it wants to be when it grows up. The food and beverage are excellent, as is the service ethic. So what could be better? 1) the rooms (the one we had I was a villa separate to the hotel) need to be warmer (atmosphere) in feel and comfort level 2) Attention to housekeeping detail isn't there yet. We showered before dinner and returned 4 hours later to find there had been no turndown service and the bathroom had not been attended to. While this appears to be picky, it's one of the luxuries one expects while staying in a hotel of this standard. We also had an issue with someone banging o our door and windows in the early hours of the morning. I called and asked for security to investigate (we were separate from the main building). No-one got back to us at any point to report back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful property and amazing stay. Ratings in Portugal can be inflated but this would be 5star anywhere in the world
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by becky

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Truly a 6 star property. Service was excellent. Marisa at the front desk was very helpful to me when I realized I had lost my credit card upon check in and we were able to coordinate things with my credit card in North America to pay for the stay. The breakfast was out of this world amazing with a fabulous cheese selection. The indoor pool is stunning. The workout facilities are great. Lots of wonderful included activities. Things to be improved on: I told them I had an allergy to cilantro/coriander. Twice my food came with it and then I had to wait for them to make me a new dish. One of the times, I was outside in the dark, and as I nearly put it in my mouth, I recognized the smell and thankfully didn't eat it. They didn't do anything special when this happened except made me another dish. I would expect a better level of service when it comes to allergies at this sort of property. The A/C in the room was weak even though it was set to 18C. I got them to come check it out/fix it, but there was no difference after. It was still not very cold.