Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient and charming hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay for catching train to Florence. We also enjoyed the Leonardo Di Vince museum near our hotel. We enjoyed the included breakfast.
5 out of 5
by JOE P.

Worth the money

Posted Oct 21, 2012 on Hotels
Very secluded and serene mountain location with breathtaking views. Excellent service from very friendly staff who spoke English and made us feel welcome every moment of our stay. It's not easy to find but our GPS got us there ok. I recommend this hotel highly.
3 out of 5
by Dave

Decent Hotel but if you are driving

Posted Aug 23, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel not what we expected as have been to better 3-star hotels but we warmed to it eventually. The location is such that you could only be driving to stay here comfortably. The food was well prepared and reasonably priced and staff were quite friendly. Not sure if would go back again.
3 out of 5
by itai

unique location but not great hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels
a very nice family is managing the hotel. our room was clean and breakfast was good but in general this an old hotel and there is no elevator. it is very hard to find on the map as our gps could not find it maybe cause it is presented as located in lamporrecio but actualy sits in san baronto. in case you want to comeback at night after 23.00 you sohuld ask before that for a special key otherwise you will find it close like it happenned to us. The tiny pool was full with dead flies and was not recomended at all. the service, the view and the food is good, but the hotel is far from being great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2010 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Monti, San Baronto - Real Tuscany!!

Posted May 25, 2010 on Hotels
Our stay at the Hotel Monti was exceptionally pleasant. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the meals (breakfast and evening meal) were based on local recipes and ingredients and were superb! We ate in the restaurant every evening during our stay because there wasn't any need to go elsewhere. The pool wasn't open when we stayed at the hotel (it was right at the beginning of the season) but the gardens and pool area looked very inviting. Taking the advice of a previous reviewer, we parked our hire car in nearby Pistoia and took the train to Florence (Firenze). This was ideal - there were frequent, comfortable, trains and Florence is easily explored on foot! The return ticket was 6 euros each - great price. Using our hire car to visit local sights, we explored the area. The village of Vinci (home of Leonardo) was a short drive away - with a great interactive museum that is currently being revamped to accommodate disabled visitors. The village itself offered nice restaurants and coffee shops too! If you are a cyclist then this part of Tuscany is for you - although you need to be very fit! If you just follow the sport you will surely catch sight of some world class cyclists out and about on a daily basis. While we were there a race went through the village of San Baronto (several riders were recognised from well known races such as the Tour de France). We spent a beautiful afternoon sitting at a Terrace Cafe enjoying the view and cheering on the riders when they came through. Although this is a popular area for tourists I recommend that you brush up on your Italian and take a phrase book because most of the people we met didn't speak English. We thoroughly recommend the Hotel Monti and the outlying area and intend to stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A Piece of History

Posted Oct 18, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel may be 100 years old but the place is a shining star. The remodel remains true to the times but has all you expect from a "class" hotel. We decided to try the hotel food and found it was as good as any of the better restaurants and the red wine was the best of our trip. We were treated like family. The grounds are lovely but at night with the lights, it's extraordinary. The stair landings are decorated exquisitely with furnishings, flowers and paintings. The hotel sits in the mountains about eleven miles from Positano. We parked free at the train station and paid 3 EUR each way for a 30 Km trip to Florence. This hotel is not for you if you need an elevator to go upstairs. The owners really relate to their patrons and the staff is friendly. This hotel is a must see.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Italian hideaway

Posted Sep 11, 2009
This hotel was lovely and quiet in the Hills of Lamporecchio. Very friendly staff, hotel was a little dated but that just added to the experience. Would definately reccomend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

personalised service made holiday

Posted Sep 24, 2008 on Hotels
small hotel in mountain village. average accommodation but superb meals cooked by Diana and served by Francesco. Lovely breakfasts and very friendly. Good base for Florence Sienna etc . Excellent value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

great restaurant

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels
we stayed for a week aug 08, basic but clean and breakfast was very good, also fantastic restaurant. family run, enjoyable stay.