Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Finzean, Scotland

Good quality hotel in New Lanark

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
Location: Already described but this really is the reason to stay.
Good quality hotel in the converted (rescued) Mill 1 in the New Lanark Mills. It's a nice modern hotel with comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. Probably best to take breakfast outside the peak time when it is very busy. The real attraction however is the Mill Complex. A fabulous insight into Victorian industry and the philanthropic owner Robert Owen. The restaurant staff are very friendly and attentive but the food is quite average. OK though as the main reason to stay is the location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from falkirk

Great family break

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Evening meal was great and full Scottish breakfast cooked to order is a must
Location: Fantastic location for a family visit - plenty to keep a 5 year old interested. The mill and village are well worth spending a day exploring
We were in a freshly renovated large family room. The whole hotel felt very spacious, clean and bright. We will definitely be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Historic Location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Good food. Beautiful location. Gift shop, restaurant, pool access. Good service from staff, very polite and caring.
Cons: Hair dryer in room was very dated and didn't work well.
Location: Walking trails to falls. Art Gallery. Gift shop. Pool & fitness center.
Awesome place to stay. Lovely trails for walking. Lots of historical interest. A go to destination.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Needs a little sprucing up, but very nice

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
This is a converted mill - so don't expect the usual "Ikea" experience. Gym is small, but not busy so there is enough kit, and its good quality. Pool, sauna and steam room are all very nice, and again as long as you avoid the swimming lesson hour, very empty. The river and falls are right next to the hotel, so you'll get a constant noise from it, but after the first night you'll be used to it. The rooms could do with a bit of TLC, bathroom looks like it has just been done and was immaculate. The restaurant menu looks great, but the food on the plate is less so, but at least it is at a reasonable price. Staff are friendly and helpful. I'd go back, so there one thing in it favour.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Essex

Amazing place. Wonderful stay.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Bar, restaurant, Lanark mills museum all around. Fabulous gift shop. Easy close parking. Amazing room overlooking the waterfalls. 2 DOUBLE beds in twin room. VERY comfortable would recommend without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by Monika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent new hotel in a historic location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Small problem with room which was dealt with quickly and efficiently by the General Manager. First Class service which in my experience is unusual these days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Très belle chambre avec un grand lit et une salle de bain moderne, mais je pense que nous avons été surclassés. Spa complet (contrairement à ce qui est écrit sur le site Hotels.com, nous n'avons pas été facturé pour notre visite au spa). Environnement intéressant. Petit déjeuner correct. Juste un petit effort à faire en ce qui concerne le personnel qui pourrait être un peu plus agréable, sauf au spa où la personne était très aimable.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Aberdeen

Family break

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Guest at a wedding held in the hotel. Staff very attentive and friendly. Excellent leisure facilities and pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Old Mill in historic village

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel fits beautifully into the old mills, with spacious high quality bedrooms and interesting public areas and amazing wide corridors.
Cons: The heating control in our room was broken. Tall windows have internal double glazing, but we needed heating in the evening. Better hair-dryer needed.
Location: A tour of New Lanark village tells a fascinating story of a mill owner's ideals in the early 1800s. We also enjoyed the Clyde waterfalls walk.
It was a treat to stay at the hotel created as part of the restoration of the very special and historically significant old mill village at New Lanark. We were attending a costume ball in Robert Owen's Institute, so there was extra magic in our visit.