Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice hotel, users friendly although out of town,

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Staffs are friendly and customer care are good also quit environment .
Cons: Improve on the carpets in the rooms
Location: Too far from Glasgow City centre and airport , arrangement could be made for hotel collection from and to airport at a reasonable rate.
Your airline partner ( Rynair ) exploitative tricks is nothing short of corporate robbery of vulnerable people which upset my trip and now giving me phobia of doing transactions online, because there is no transparency .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
From the outside it could do with being brightened up, inside it was clean, bare wires hanging out of ceiling, when I stood in the bath for a shower the bath was creaking I thought it was going to collapse, breakfast was nice, had a varied selection
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear David I am aware that we do have some rooms that are ready for refurbishment but our gradual refurbishment has not reached them. However we are identifying these rooms and carrying out interim work where appropriate till we reach them with a full refurbishment. Many thanks DD
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faulty Towers was so much better than this.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The chambermaids were great.
Cons: Everything but the chambermaids!
Location: Near to shopping centre where you can find other eating establishments with trained staff.
What can one say about a hotel that stinks of damp and it hits you when you enter it? There was no welcome from the receptionist and no information about the hotel or restaurants or bars. Two of the bars have seemingly closed down!! The restaurant was dimly lit with low lighting and candles which didn't hide the cracks on the ceiling and paper hanging off the wall. The carpets were disgusting and should be condemned. My food, the steak pie, was inedible and couldn't be chewed at all. They did knock the price off the bill. The staff were poorly trained but did their best. Another customer at an adjacent table said he got his fruit cocktail served with a fork but used his teaspoon instead. On our departure there was no pleasantries asked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Your comments have already been investigated in full and discussed with all the staff concerned. The chef holds his hands up to his steak pie being not up to his usual standard for which he apologies and he will take the necessary steps ensure there will be no recurrence in the future. I am sure, being a chef yourself, you will agree there is the odd occasion when things don't go to plan and the essential consistency of service suffers. With regard to some of your other comments we as a team are a bit taken aback despite your praise of the housekeeping department which is appreciated. Regards DD Regards DD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent value hotel next to large shopping mall

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This hotel is located next to the shopping mall, restaurants and bars. The staff were all very courteous and helpful, and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff working at the hotel bar were also very accommodating. I would stay at this hotel again when I visit East Kilbride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear David Many thanks for such a terrific review which is greatly appreciated by us all at the Bruce Hotel Regards DD
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Just been told by the "director" that nobody would listen to my complaint of no hot water, TV not working. Given a heater to use during the night. I have spent almost £600 On my way! Two week stay and wanted a refund for the final night when I was unable to have shower and watch TV, not to mention the danger of the fire in the tiny room. He offered a free drink, I'm teetotal anyway but think this was nit an adequate response. I found the directors attitude aggressive and when I asked about the owner he chuckled and said he would not be answering to me! Would not reccomend this hotel to anyone, poor customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fife, UK

Port in a storm!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: In the area I required.
Cons: Bit down-at-heel, needs a refresh.
Location: Next to shopping centre, other than that I don't know!
Needed an overnight stay due to bad weather, this was well priced and within the area, a perfect stop-gap. Would have been disappointed if I was looking for something more special but this had all I needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Pretty bad hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Well, we first arrived and checked in fairly quickly with no problems. Foyer area and bar looked pretty decent. As soon as we stepped in the elevator, i got the feeling this wasn't going to be good. Hotel corridors run down and very old, not been updated since 90's id say with carpet all taped to keep it together. Opened out room door and my heart sank. It was like a prison cell, with an old crap bed. It was timy and decades out of date. I called expedia an explained that i was not happy and wanted to cancel there and then. Expedia then contacted the hotel while i was on hold and they came back and said they were moving us to a suite. We moved rooms and it was a bit better, bigger with a nicer bed as it seemed. Double bed had 2 single matresses on it and were pretty old and worn. This suite as they called it was just a standard room and nothing in the room was worthy of calling it such. But we stayed the 9 days as it was just about adequate for our needs. Id never go back and id advise anyone to avoid it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old fashioned

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel needs up dated. very old looking, and the lift wasnt working, had to climb 2 flight of stairs. the bathroom was smelling of damp. and had a cracked sink. i couldnt take pics as my phone battery went dead,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could do better

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient central location. reception and bar staff friendly. Room acceptable but room and hotel a bit tired. Parking far from ideal and wifi almost non-existant. Must be the first UK hotel I've been to that didn't have reception for BBC1 & 2.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels