Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hôtel but food in restaurant poor.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Lovely hotel especially for the price but the standard of the restaurant food was very poor- quite pricey but overcooked and dry. Staff however were delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel lovely and our staff delightful. I note your comments regarding the food served in the restaurant, I will share your review with our Head Chef and his team. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, room size and decor.
Cons: The system for charging your room for facilities/items ordered, and speed of staff
Location: It is a countryside hotel with good access to road network
Stayed here to go to a wedding at the nearby Samlesbury Hall. It was easy to get to from the motorway in a quiet countryside location so it was easy yo get a peaceful sleep at night. The room was spacious, modern and clean (aside form the bogey on the ceiling and the wall beside the dressing table) The staff were pleasant but very slow and you need to be careful about charges to the room because most people in our party were charged for something they had not ordered ourselves included. But I think this can be ironed out because I was informed that this was a new system put in place recently so we can allow for teething problems. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend
2 out of 5
by Hazel

Hotel nice - pity the lack of hot water!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
When in the area I always like to stay at the Samlesbury Hotel but was deeply disappointed. When I arrived and full of the cold I went to have a hot shower before going out. The water was cold. In the morning I went to have another shower and again the water was cold. There was no hot water even from the tap.. When checking out I complained but advised there was no hot water for any of the residents as the boiler was playing up. I feel I should have been advised of this when I checked in as it obviously wasn't working. Nothing. Deeply disappointed as I really like the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hazel I am so sorry that there was a problem with the boiler during your stay, although it is of little comfort to you, I can confirm that the problem has now been resolved. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Samlesbury Hotel in the future. Best wishes Hayley .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good.....but cold

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely staff, great food, decent gym....however my only issue was the room I stayed was really cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and using the gym and that you found our staff lovely. I am so sorry that your room was cold I have asked my maintenance team to look into the problem. Best wishes Hayley Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Christmas Party stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The Party evening and waiting staff were very efficient and attentive. The food was well cooked and hot!
Cons: Reception and check in , improve customer care.
We arrived for 3 pm check in, to be told our room wasn't ready. Thinking we would only have to wait a few minutes. We were directed to sit in the bar area. After 30 mins of watching others check in and go to their rooms, we asked again, to be told no still not ready! No apology, coffee or drinks offered. By 4pm I had lost patience, my husband had worked the previous night and needed a sleep before we were to meet friends in the bar. This time we were told they would have to change our room and eventually we got to our room, which was freezing cold! The heating was on full, but didn't make any difference, the bathroom was artic conditions. The Party night however was brilliant, attentive , friendly staff looked after us extremely well, the food was lovely and we enjoyed a great evening. Just a shame about the reception on check in and lack of customer care, I have never been treated so shabbily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debs I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the party night and that you found our F&B team friendly and attentive. I am so sorry that your room was not ready for your arrival please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to make your arrival welcoming and enjoyable. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Samlesbury Hotel in the future to encounter a more positive stay. Best wishes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Away with work

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel my only moan would be breakfast is a little on the steep side £10 But I have booked again for next week so it is only a little moan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Reasonably priced for a lovely hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I called the reception the day before our arrival to ask if we would be able to check in early due to us attending a wedding. Was told this couldn't be guaranteed but they would put a note on our booking. On arrival, we asked to check in. We felt the staff member was slightly abrupt (as we were early) but once I explained I had phoned etc, then it was checked if our room was available and we were able to go to our room. We were very thankful that they allowed us to check in early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Louise Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that your room was ready for your early check in. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice hotel. However breakfast for £15 or continental for £10 is over priced. I ate breakfast elsewhere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair to Middling

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Our first visit to the hotel, which was easy to find, ample parking, good decor & the welcome was good & friendly. Our room was bright, clean, well laid out but strangely cold. The bathroom was spotless and lacked heat. The radiator turned up to max but didn't really improve matters and in the end I took to the bed, fully clothed. The heating situation never improved so I suspect the CH water temperature was set too low. The curtains at the window above the radiator didn't help as they were too long, so the convected heat from the radiator just went up between the window & the curtain and not into the room. Tucking the curtains above the window sill improved things but the bathroom remained cold as it had no heating. The shower was excellent, and I'm sure the water emerging from the shower heads was hotter than that flowing around the CH system. The bed was very comfortable, the free WiFi signal was strong, the TV excellent and the tea/coffee making facilities good. Why are the rubbish bags put in room bins in hotels always too small for the bins? Despite the below par room temperature, a good night’s sleep was had. Checking out was quick, though would have been quicker if the "boy" on reception had paid attention to the sequence of clients arriving to check out rather than concentrating on staring at the desk during a phone call. We left a little bit disappointed but should we be up this way again, we may well give it another go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the problem with the heating in your room, our duty manager would have been happy to assist in resolving the problem. I would love to welcome you back to Samlesbury Hotel in the future to experience a more positive stay. Best wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burnley

Wedding venue

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was nice and quiet
Cons: Main body of hotel could be warmer
Location: As wedding only didn't leave hotel
Good overall. Found hotel cold. Had to keep a wrap on all evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pam Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that there was a problem with the heating during your stay and hope that this did not spoil your evening. Best wishes