Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Christmas Party stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The Party evening and waiting staff were very efficient and attentive. The food was well cooked and hot!
Cons: Reception and check in , improve customer care.
We arrived for 3 pm check in, to be told our room wasn't ready. Thinking we would only have to wait a few minutes. We were directed to sit in the bar area. After 30 mins of watching others check in and go to their rooms, we asked again, to be told no still not ready! No apology, coffee or drinks offered. By 4pm I had lost patience, my husband had worked the previous night and needed a sleep before we were to meet friends in the bar. This time we were told they would have to change our room and eventually we got to our room, which was freezing cold! The heating was on full, but didn't make any difference, the bathroom was artic conditions. The Party night however was brilliant, attentive , friendly staff looked after us extremely well, the food was lovely and we enjoyed a great evening. Just a shame about the reception on check in and lack of customer care, I have never been treated so shabbily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debs I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the party night and that you found our F&B team friendly and attentive. I am so sorry that your room was not ready for your arrival please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to make your arrival welcoming and enjoyable. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Samlesbury Hotel in the future to encounter a more positive stay. Best wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Reasonably priced for a lovely hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I called the reception the day before our arrival to ask if we would be able to check in early due to us attending a wedding. Was told this couldn't be guaranteed but they would put a note on our booking. On arrival, we asked to check in. We felt the staff member was slightly abrupt (as we were early) but once I explained I had phoned etc, then it was checked if our room was available and we were able to go to our room. We were very thankful that they allowed us to check in early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Louise Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that your room was ready for your early check in. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burnley

Wedding venue

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was nice and quiet
Cons: Main body of hotel could be warmer
Location: As wedding only didn't leave hotel
Good overall. Found hotel cold. Had to keep a wrap on all evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pam Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that there was a problem with the heating during your stay and hope that this did not spoil your evening. Best wishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was in a good position for my business next day
We found the hotel very comfortable and relaxing , all of the staff from reception to bar staff and waiters were first class and very helpfull
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel close to M6

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Position of Hotel
Cons: Room decor a little tired
Location: Close to canal trips and Huntleys where there is a maize maze a good place to eat and lovely shops and crafts
Pleasant staff at check in. Rooms decent size with comfy beds and all amenities. Bar service slow. Evening meal good quality with plenty of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Stayed here due to attending a wedding at Stanley House, very nice Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean modern hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Cons: Breakfast- hot drinks served , rather than self service.
Location: The beautiful Ribble valley is on the door step
The room was clean and tidy, and very quiet- so good sound insulation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Convenience. It's fine but not spectacular
Cons: Somewhat impersonal
Location: Relatively convenient for family
Expedient for what we needed. We didn't eat there so connot comment on meals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value for Money

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Staff couldn't do enough for you.
2nd Time we have stayed and definitely will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Hotel but very hard to find .

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The meals were excellent ( Dinner and Breakfast ) .
Location: The Hotel was extremely difficult to locate as we could not find any Sign Posting .
When we finally found the Hotel , the Staff were very helpful , the Room and Bathroom was very nice . My Husband and l both found that the Bed was too firm for us .