Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a welcoming B&B

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
a very hospitable B&B, very comfortable and friendly in a super location for walking in the Dales, lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from London

Great B&B exactly what you would hope for.

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little B&B, the owner was a really nice guy, breakfast was fantastic, room was spotlessly clean and spacious. And it was really good value for money, can't fault it really.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Nice B and B in lovely location

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The B and B isn't as good as described. Room small with marks on the walls . Toilet flush loose and sink plug mechanism not working. Little thing like TV remote back missing. Windows wouldn't open which made it rather warm. On plus side excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitkirk, Leeds

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Warm, clean and spacious room. Comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Really nice breakfast cooked by really nice owner. Ticks all the boxes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bromley

Pretty cottage great for walking hols!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
I stayed in this pretty cottage next to a stream whilst on an 'adventure' trip to the Yorkshire dales. It is just the best location, a short stroll to the village cafe & pub....With all the trails, walks and cycleways starting nearby. The owner was so helpful and a good cook too!
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely room and delicious food

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The food, the king size bedroom
Location: The town is just over a mile from the train station (beware if you don't have a car). There is a lovely walk nearby to the caves past a waterfall
We had a lovely stay for 2 nights. We eat at the restaurant one evening and the food was fantastic - good size portions of really tasty food. The bedroom was well presented with an amazingly comfortable bed. The owner was really friendly. Recommended!
4 out of 5
by David from Barnsley

Excellent service

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
The service at Brookhouse cannot be faulted with attention to detail important to the owners. Our bed in room 3 (Whernside) was particularly comfortable. The only minor cause of any concern is that although it has sole use of a bathroom it is not ensuite but is across the corridor. I appreciate that this is an old cottage where it is not possible to alter the internal layout to make all four rooms ensuite without compromising the room sizes. It is very quiet and I never saw other guests when crossing the corridor! The breakfast was served at table to order not a buffet. It was as good as could possibly be required and there was no delay awaiting service or individual preparation. Evening meals are not served every day. When they are available it is certainly worth eating at the Brookhouse. The price is suitable for the high standard of cuisine and service on offer. Certainly much better than most pub meals available locally for only a small premium on the price.
4 out of 5
by Norman from Rugby

When is an 'ensuite' not an ensuite!??

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Hotels.com describes Whernside as ensuite. We should have checked the guest house website before booking as we wanted an ensuite room, but on their website it is correctly shown as 'private bathroom'. It was just across the hall and was for our exclusive use, but there was no outside lock on the door, so anyone could have used it. Also if you want the loo in the middle of the night, it wasn't at all convenient.Apart from that, the bathroom was spacious. In the bedroom, the window seat, the only seat apart from the dressing table stool, was quite restricted and you couldn't easily see the tv from it. The room was too small for a king size bed but was quite stylish with good quality bedding. We had good nights' sleep. There was a good choice of breakfasts on offer and the cooked breakfast was comprehensive.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Witshire

A little gem in the Dales

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay at this quiet B&B. Warm welcome and what my wife described as one of the best breakfasts she had every had.