Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maldon, Essex

Good hotel and near Lancaster and Garstang

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: It was very convenient and a perfect base for us. The big king-size bed was very comfortable and the room was also spacious.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved was the shower...it was very weak!
Location: It's near Garstang,a historic market town with a lot of character and plenty of restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the American night at Pipers!
Really enjoyed our stay. The staff, particularly the manager, were extremely friendly and helpful! The breakfast was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire uk

need to improve cleaning in areas....big let down

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Went in bar for food while waiting for room to be finished ladies toilet brown stained... bad first impression Bedroom smelt of kitchen grease . Need plug in air freshener.went to make drink of tea in room found teaspoon sticky and smelling of coffee In breakfast less than twenty mins helped our selves to Two bowls of cereal and glass orange juice charged£9.00 I did ask to be charge for only one continental breakfast but staff said no and that's after paying £72 for room for night Only positive ... Bar food was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Welcome

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant lady waiting on at breakfast.
Cons: Communication amongst reception staff and a better more informative welcome.
This was a late booking and I specified requests online but also called hotel to be sure in advance to request twin not double room with additional bed. Disappointing that this message not conveyed or noted. Despite 3 of us arriving with cases, we were given keys to a room with one double bed. After going back to reception our room was quickly changed and extra bed delivered/made.
4 out of 5
by John from essex

No Problems

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
No problems at all - close to family clean and comfortable with a good breakfast what more could you ask. Having a pub attached with good food was a bonus
3 out of 5
by Linda from lancashire

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
I appreciate that the hotel is only 3 star but in parts it was quite out dated and shabby. The bathroom toilet in ou room wasn't particularly clean and their was a stale smell coming from there. The light fitting in the bathroom had six bulbs only two were working. The mattress on the bed was uncomfortable. On the plus side the staff were very good and the food and service in the tavern were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Dr Peter from Chapelford Village

First day stayover for our long weekend exploring

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
We are familiar with this location and the Crofters Hotel. We chose to stay here for the first day of our long weekend exploring Lancashire.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 5, 2016
There was no indication that none of the rooms were on the ground floor or accessible by lift & therefore not suitable for disabled people unable to climb stairs. Hotel staff blamed Expedia saying they'd no control over what was put in their hotel's page on Expedia. As we arrived at 10.15pm we were too tired to go elsewhere so I had to max out on painkillers & it took me about 15-20 minutes to climb the 21 steps to the 1st floor on which our room was located. I'd asked for whichever room was easiest to get to but had to walk quite a way down a corridor. Tea/coffee facilities in the room were up on a shelf at a rather unsafe height even for me (I'm 5' 9"). There was a lot of noise from the hotel bar playing music until 10.45pm. There was no bathmat or anything else to prevent slipping in the bath (w shower over) & nothing to hold onto to aid one getting out of the bath/shower. I sent an email directly to the hotel before the day of travel & never received a reply. On the plus side, the bed & bathroom were clean & the bed was reasonably comfortable as well as being a good size (king-size but only charged for a double, not sure if that was because we mentioned the accessibility issue). We couldn't find a remote control for the TV & as we arrived quite late we were too tired to wait up for one to be brought to the room. The staff said they have problems with people taking the remotes, perhaps they only give them to guests on check-in & ask them to be returned on check-out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - nice staff

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent reception check in. Really good menu choice and really well prepared and presented food. Friendly and accommodating staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay here

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Arrived no room was allocated. Given a single room for 2 people the size of a cupboard and a smaller cupboard for a bathroom. No towels. One pillow. No headboard. Noisy bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Hotel was nice and pleasant. Room was very nice however was extremely hot and I think it may have been iver the kitchens as the bathroom smelt of cooking. Apart from that hotel very nice, clean and comfortable. Drinks reasonably price and comfy bed.