Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 宮崎県

街から離れたホテル

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: 綺麗に内装が変えられていた点
Cons: 駅とバスの間の交通
Location: 湖水地方に行くには良いところ、車がないと不便である。
車がないと行きづらいホテル。駅からバスで10分程度だが夜7時前にはバスがなくなるため注意が必要。朝早く汽車に乗るときもバスの時間を確認したほうがい。傍には歩行者用の道路があるので散歩をするには良いと思う。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be really good.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Check in took 15 minutes,one girl on reception.Got to room and keycard didn't work,back to reception to wait again.Hotel is totally refitted due to floods so quite smart.The free WiFi in room is useless so frustrating and slow you don't bother with it. Breakfast is nice but not run very well and was freezing with air con blasting out.Decent hotel but could be so much better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Perfect for our stay. Nice little playground and swimming pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

So close to awesome, but tragic maintenance fails

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Restaurant worked well, great breakfast, pretty good playground, easy free parking, friendly staff, good location.
Cons: Much better maintenance processes and better checking of room condition between guests. Make sure you don't ask customers who pre-paid to pay again!
The hotel is well set up to be family friendly, with pool and playground and a great restaurant. But when we arrived our door key didn't work. Back down the lift to get a replacement, and that didn't work either. The manager came up with us and manually programmed a key card and we were in. There was running water sound in the bathroom - the toilet wouldn't stop running unless we jiggled the flush knob multiple times but we could put up with that - every single time any of us used the toilet. We went to turn on the TV - the aerial cable was missing. Went to sit in the desk chair - one of the wheels was missing so it tipped to the side and couldn't be used. Both fixed promptly when we went down and advised the front desk. The safe had been locked by a previous user and we couldn't open it - decided we couldn't face ANOTHER trip to the front desk so did without. Then on departure I gave the room key to the lady at the front desk who asked me to wait while she checked for charges - and told me I owed the room cost. Fortunately I remembered that we had paid at time of booking so she "re-checked" and agreed that we had and we left. Phew! It has many things going for it but needs a serious review of maintenance and procedures.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hongkong

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Clean. Free wifi. The waiter in the restaurant is nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical Holiday Inn

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: It was nice having complimentary access to the swimming pool. Long opening hours for the health club. We also enjoyed the table football in the lobby.
Cons: The breakfast was okay but at busy times the food area was messy. Jams were kept in big pots and looked unappetizing.
Location: Straight off the motorway, easy to find. Two miles from the centre, directly next to the River Lune, nice walkway to the centre.
All in all a pleasant stay, the nights were quiet, the beds comfortable, the room clean. The room size was very generous, even with the sofa bed out. We had some minor problems but the hotel staff sorted them out reasonably quick. When we arrived for example our family wasn't set up yet. This was sorted out quickly. On the second day we had no hot water in our room. We told them about it and had our shower in the health club. Nobody came back to us about it but the next day the hot water was back on. Also on the second day we arrived back in our room to see all the bedding stripped and dumped. It turned out that a new mattress was being delivered. It would have been nice to have known this in advance instead of coming back to a room that looked as though it had been burgled. They gave us complimentary drinks in the lobby while we waited for the room to be sorted out again. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast room was at times overwhelmed with the amount of people in it. The buffet was not the most attractive. The jam and honey in the big pots looked like old jelly and wasn't labelled, so you had the choice between yellow blob and two types of red blob as well as runny honey that was everywhere. Cheese and salami were on the same plate and overlapping - not great if you are a vegetarian. The cooked breakfast was good however. There is big lawn and play area at the back of the hotel which was nice. The swimming pool was also great. All in all we had an enjoyable stay.
1 out of 5
by Eoin from Ireland

A Disgrace

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Seeing as I am receiving this mail you must be still unaware that the hotel is closed. I arrived on the evening of my stay to find the hotel in complete darkness. Staff were of no help and didn't really care that I hadn't been notified that the hotel had been flooded the weekend before my stay. It had been four days since the flood and with a large group like the Holiday Inn I do not think that it is acceptable that all customers had not been notified of the situation. The local hotels were full so I had to go to the next town twenty minutes away to find a room. I still have received no notification of when the full price of my stay will be reimbursed to me. I will be mailing your customer service when I return to te office in the morning to decide the best course of action to take.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Bury

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic stay definitely stop again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Karen Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really is very much appreciated. The hotel suffered some severe damage this weekend during the storms and will now be closed until 31st March 2016 but we hope that we can welcome you back to our New Hotel in the New Year. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by Andri from Limassol

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
I had a great stay location and room size very comfortable Most of it excellent Gym!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Andri Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, All our staff endeavour to make your stay a comfortable one and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Spirit Leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
2 out of 5
by Richard from Fleet

Disappointing

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room ok, but come on Holiday Inn, charging ludicrous amounts for wifi these days is just disgusting. The following night I stayed in a lovely B&B with fast quick wifi. Stop fleecing your customers! Breakfast on day 1 was frankly awful. Large containers of fruit juice were empty and not refilled. The heat lamp breakfast was pretty inedible, none of it being even remotely fresh, and this was at 8am. Day 2 was thankfully better but then it couldn't have been worse. All in all, really not impressed. The hotel is ok, staff seem pleasant but the points above ruined it for me. Would I return? No I wouldn't.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to post a review after a recent stay.I am so sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. The hotel itself is currently closed for a clear up operation after Storm Desmond but both myself and David Steele the Operations Manger are available on email should you wish to discuss this further. We can be contacted on gm@hilancasterhotel.co.uk or ops@hilancasterhotel.co.uk I do apologise for all the inconvenience you have received. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager