Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hongkong

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Clean. Free wifi. The waiter in the restaurant is nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical Holiday Inn

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: It was nice having complimentary access to the swimming pool. Long opening hours for the health club. We also enjoyed the table football in the lobby.
Cons: The breakfast was okay but at busy times the food area was messy. Jams were kept in big pots and looked unappetizing.
Location: Straight off the motorway, easy to find. Two miles from the centre, directly next to the River Lune, nice walkway to the centre.
All in all a pleasant stay, the nights were quiet, the beds comfortable, the room clean. The room size was very generous, even with the sofa bed out. We had some minor problems but the hotel staff sorted them out reasonably quick. When we arrived for example our family wasn't set up yet. This was sorted out quickly. On the second day we had no hot water in our room. We told them about it and had our shower in the health club. Nobody came back to us about it but the next day the hot water was back on. Also on the second day we arrived back in our room to see all the bedding stripped and dumped. It turned out that a new mattress was being delivered. It would have been nice to have known this in advance instead of coming back to a room that looked as though it had been burgled. They gave us complimentary drinks in the lobby while we waited for the room to be sorted out again. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast room was at times overwhelmed with the amount of people in it. The buffet was not the most attractive. The jam and honey in the big pots looked like old jelly and wasn't labelled, so you had the choice between yellow blob and two types of red blob as well as runny honey that was everywhere. Cheese and salami were on the same plate and overlapping - not great if you are a vegetarian. The cooked breakfast was good however. There is big lawn and play area at the back of the hotel which was nice. The swimming pool was also great. All in all we had an enjoyable stay.
1 out of 5
by Eoin from Ireland

A Disgrace

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Seeing as I am receiving this mail you must be still unaware that the hotel is closed. I arrived on the evening of my stay to find the hotel in complete darkness. Staff were of no help and didn't really care that I hadn't been notified that the hotel had been flooded the weekend before my stay. It had been four days since the flood and with a large group like the Holiday Inn I do not think that it is acceptable that all customers had not been notified of the situation. The local hotels were full so I had to go to the next town twenty minutes away to find a room. I still have received no notification of when the full price of my stay will be reimbursed to me. I will be mailing your customer service when I return to te office in the morning to decide the best course of action to take.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Bury

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic stay definitely stop again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Karen Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really is very much appreciated. The hotel suffered some severe damage this weekend during the storms and will now be closed until 31st March 2016 but we hope that we can welcome you back to our New Hotel in the New Year. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by Andri from Limassol

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
I had a great stay location and room size very comfortable Most of it excellent Gym!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Andri Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, All our staff endeavour to make your stay a comfortable one and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Spirit Leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
2 out of 5
by Richard from Fleet

Disappointing

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room ok, but come on Holiday Inn, charging ludicrous amounts for wifi these days is just disgusting. The following night I stayed in a lovely B&B with fast quick wifi. Stop fleecing your customers! Breakfast on day 1 was frankly awful. Large containers of fruit juice were empty and not refilled. The heat lamp breakfast was pretty inedible, none of it being even remotely fresh, and this was at 8am. Day 2 was thankfully better but then it couldn't have been worse. All in all, really not impressed. The hotel is ok, staff seem pleasant but the points above ruined it for me. Would I return? No I wouldn't.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to post a review after a recent stay.I am so sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. The hotel itself is currently closed for a clear up operation after Storm Desmond but both myself and David Steele the Operations Manger are available on email should you wish to discuss this further. We can be contacted on gm@hilancasterhotel.co.uk or ops@hilancasterhotel.co.uk I do apologise for all the inconvenience you have received. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by John

Good and convenient stop off

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Overdue but very welcome bathroom refurbs now make the rooms very good and the value excellent - specially for Club members
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, And, yes at last we are undergoing our refurbishment of the hotel, starting with our bathrooms, rooms to follow shortly. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but tired

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel looks tired, but was clean. Staff friendly. WIFI was extortionate!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveller Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Lancaster. You will be pleased to hear that our bathroom refurbishments are very nearly finished and the rooms are to follow shortly. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on any future trips to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kung

Newly refurbished room

Posted Nov 8, 2015
They should inform customer to have a newly refurbished room which may have smell from the paint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear peter Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so sorry you were not informed that you had one of our newly refurbished rooms, the smell of paint can be most annoying. Should this ever happen again, please do not hesitate to contact reception or our duty manager & we would do our very best to find an alternative room. We hope to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Lancaster again on your next visit to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by Pat from Devizes

Curates Egg - good in parts,

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Typical chain hotel. Very clean, staff very professional - but carry your own cases. Shame the bathroom was designed by someone who does not take bottles of shampoo to the shower since there was no shelf in the shower - and no bath in the bathroom. I dined in the restaurant - pasta was overcooked - chicken was dried out - did not enjoy the meal at all. Self service breakfast was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Pat Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Expedia. I am sorry to read that no one was available to help with your luggage. Poterage is usually available when requested, so I apologise that it wasn't provided for you in this instance. Our bathrooms are all undergoing refurbishment at the moment and we have had an issue with some of the bathroom accessories however, these are being rectified as I write. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn when you next visit Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager