Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by John

Good and convenient stop off

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Overdue but very welcome bathroom refurbs now make the rooms very good and the value excellent - specially for Club members
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, And, yes at last we are undergoing our refurbishment of the hotel, starting with our bathrooms, rooms to follow shortly. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but tired

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel looks tired, but was clean. Staff friendly. WIFI was extortionate!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveller Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Lancaster. You will be pleased to hear that our bathroom refurbishments are very nearly finished and the rooms are to follow shortly. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on any future trips to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kung

Newly refurbished room

Posted Nov 8, 2015
They should inform customer to have a newly refurbished room which may have smell from the paint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear peter Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so sorry you were not informed that you had one of our newly refurbished rooms, the smell of paint can be most annoying. Should this ever happen again, please do not hesitate to contact reception or our duty manager & we would do our very best to find an alternative room. We hope to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Lancaster again on your next visit to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear peter Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so sorry you were not informed that you had one of our newly refurbished rooms, the smell of paint can be most annoying. Should this ever happen again, please do not hesitate to contact reception or our duty manager & we would do our very best to find an alternative room. We hope to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Lancaster again on your next visit to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pat from Devizes

Curates Egg - good in parts,

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Typical chain hotel. Very clean, staff very professional - but carry your own cases. Shame the bathroom was designed by someone who does not take bottles of shampoo to the shower since there was no shelf in the shower - and no bath in the bathroom. I dined in the restaurant - pasta was overcooked - chicken was dried out - did not enjoy the meal at all. Self service breakfast was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Pat Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Expedia. I am sorry to read that no one was available to help with your luggage. Poterage is usually available when requested, so I apologise that it wasn't provided for you in this instance. Our bathrooms are all undergoing refurbishment at the moment and we have had an issue with some of the bathroom accessories however, these are being rectified as I write. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn when you next visit Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kenneth from Perth

Fair

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was quaint. No-one to ask about coffee, and cooked choices limited eg no scrambled egg. Also, no-one asked who I was. I could have walked off the street, and walked out without paying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Kenneth Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your restaurant experience was not up to our usual standards and for this I apologise. I have passed your comments on to the restaurant supervisor and have been assured further training with all staff will be given, I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn on your next trip to Lancaster to show you how good we really can be. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ghulam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from sutton coldfield

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Unable to provide my preferred choice of food in the restaurant. Alternative was nice though. Gym and Pool very good. Unable to get heating on in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pillows

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Not much looked dated
Checked in after a long day and asked for extra pillows for our bed at 07.00pm. Waited an hour to then ring room service to be told " oh sorry we forgot they'll be with you in 10 mins". Extra pillows arrived at 09.10pm with a very sorry looking member of staff who did get some stern words. Explained this problem in the morning when checking out and the staff just didnt seem bothered so in short will not be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Could do better

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Single night stay. The WiFi was painfully slow. The evening meal (hunters chicken) was dry and dull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roselie from Devon

Weekend visit

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
It was a fair hotel for the price. Did not get to use leisure facilities unfortunately as too busy. Biggest disappointment was no free WiFi in this day and age. Second disappointment was breakfast. Very little left when we had breakfast around 9am on the Saturday.