Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient location

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Location - right on the Ringway. Restaurants along Fishergate - or try the Grey Friar (Wetherspoons) nearby.
Slightly unusual - reception on the First Floor, no lift access from ground level after 10pm. But the rooms are clean and not cramped; breakfast is good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Nice hotel right in the town centre

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Hotel staff really helpful and nothing to much trouble. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent modern city centre hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room.
Cons: The air-conditioning did not seem to be working very effectively. Important since the outside window could not be opened.
Location: Close to Preston town centre with its shops, pubs and restaurants.
It is a Holiday Inn, so not exactly full of individual character but no-one would expect that in such a chain. It provides reliably clean and comfortable rooms, is quiet enough and the morning call came through ,cheerfully, at the expected time. The shower did not take too much working out. I did not have a breakfast this time but on my last visit it was a decent buffet. The position is next door to Preston's famed brutalist bus station if you are interested in either architecture or buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Quite but noisy guest at 3am till 04.30

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bar prices told by other guest also that is why they eat and drink else where .
Location: Good in town
Noisy guest other wise good location clean room expensive Bar prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Reasonable Value

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Fairly standard accommodations at a good price. Good breakfast for an extra five pounds. Short walk to Preston high street. Adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Nice friendly welcome clean near hotel nice location too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2015
It has not been a good experience at this trip than it was last year. Perhaps due to being under new management & staff. I would not be staying at Holiday Inn Express in Preston future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

central for shops and bus station

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Good evening meal
Cons: Very happy
Location: Central for shops
Very helpful staff polite clean and comfortable hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 13, 2015
It was a very hot day upon arrival. The room had air conditioning and was made up to a high standard. Staff were very friendly. Parking was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Mixed Experience

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location. Price.
Cons: Policing the occupants better. Didn't book in to be awakened at 5:00 a.m.
Location: Easy walk to any part of downtown Preston. Right next to bus station.
Thought I was in for a bad time when the first words I was greeted with were "you're early" after turning up 40 minutes before check-in time. Not what I want to hear after a four hour train journey. Then had to wait in restaurant while the only person on duty spent many minutes counting her till money. After that I couldn't complain about the rooms, the food or the service. One downturn was being wakened at 5:00 a.m. by the sound of numerous young, seemingly drunk men shouting, banging doors, doing push-ups and generally being disruptive in the hallways. When I opened the door to see what was happening I was asked by one if I could charge his mobile phone for him. When I mentioned it to staff, I was greeted by "well, it's a bank holiday". No apologies. Rooms were very clean. Lots of hot water. Lots of clean and good quality towels. Moderate free WiFi. Good breakfast offering. Price was extremely good. Big problems flushing toilet. A battle every time.