Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, clean and staff very friendly.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location, style, staff, cleanliness
Cons: As above water per person rather than one per room Check crockery, was served milk in chipped jug
Location: Lancaster, stayed for graduation ceremony
Good clean hotel, check in cumbersome, staff friendly, breakfast very good. Double room booked, perhaps water bottle for each person rather than one bottle for each room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Stopover whilst driving from Hants to Scotland.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The room we had was excellent as was the reception area and the Sanderman Bar..
Cons: Restaurant staff and routines need reviewing or some strong leadership, breakfast was an embarrassing disaster for a hotel of this quality?
Location: Location for us was perfect as it is a perfect stopover on our road journey to Scotland, we have stayed here before during previous Scotland trips...
My wife and I opted for a luxury studio room and the room was superb with huge comfortable bed, separate lounge area with sofa seating and a huge bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, there was two TV's available in the room but they were not used, so we were very happy with our room. As we stayed on a Saturday the hotel was busy as a wedding was taking place so parking was an issue but we managed to get a space eventually. The evening Dinner menu was very varied with lots of choices and the food we chose was delicious and good value, the restaurant staff were very slow with regard to service and attention to detail, taking orders and getting drinks (as an example being served the soup for starter but having no soup spoon) but as we were in no rush we were finding the disorganisation of the restaurant staff quite amusing...sadly the next morning breakfast was a complete disaster as tables left uncleared staff just stood around whilst people could not find a table to sit at for breakfast, we eventually got a waiter to clear a table for us which was painful to watch as he clearly had no interest in doing so (breakfast by the way was nice) but we had to eat breakfast surrounded by dirty uncleared tables whilst staff stood around and this was while guests were waiting at the door to enter the restaurant...the restaurant breakfast scenario did slightly mar our visit overall..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedford

Well positioned for our journey

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: It's half way position for my journey Evening meal was excellent
Cons: Staff numbers on duty during breakfast time
Location: Close to Lancaster university would be ideal for family visiting students Lancaster a few miles down the road
Good,efficient check in Clean tidy room Disastrous breakfast,due to over stretched staff unable to cope with the previous evenings wedding guests all arriving for breakfast at the same time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The hotel was very cozy and welcoming, the room was clean and well facilitated. Staff were all polite. The only fault was a lack of variation on the bar menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The Swimming pool and being able to use the sauna and steam room whilst at the hotel.
Location: Location was lovely and quiet, plenty of car parking space and right next door for the university.
Had an overnight stay, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent, clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Excellent location for Lancaster and University

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Most things, top of list is excellent breakfast
Cons: Was a bit busy during conference/wedding days
Location: Lancaster town, visit the castle and do the tour - excellent
3 night stay, staff very pleasant, great location, plenty of parking, excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, England

Very good hotel near wedding venue.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The location and amenitieis
Cons: There was no lift so a bit taxing carrying up luggage - there was no offer to do this.
Location: We were staying for a nearby wedding so didn't explore the area fully - maybe next time??
The hotel was near the wedding venue - Ashton Memorial - and reception venue - The Lancaster Brewery. We were upgraded on arrival which made our stay even more pleasurable. Our room was quiet and very well fitted out. The staff were very helpful particularly the restaurant staff for dinner and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Nice, clean, well run hotel. The fitness room is especially good - loads of quality equipment for cardio and weights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights. Friendly staff, very clean spacious rooms and great fresh breakfast. In other areas of the uk you would easily pay double for the same quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, would have loved to stay longer

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Hairdressers, spa
Room was perfect and in excellent condition. Only stayed for a wedding so didn't spend much time at the hotel but I would recommend for a relaxing weekend away. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and staff were pleasant at front desk and at the restaurant.