Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Weekend visit to student son

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Arriving on Sat for one night stay. Purpose was to catch up with our son who's a student at Lancaster Uni. Joined us for a family meal on Sat evening as free on production of student card. Ditto breakfast. Everything about the stay from check in to departure was excellent. Highly recommended to other parents as so convenient to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Stopover on journey to London

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: The bathroom and heating
Location: No clue, arrived in the evening and left first thing
Lovely staff, room decor nice quality however stained carpet and old outdated bathroom. The sound of constant running water from a panel behind the toilet was an annoyance in the night. Nice breakfast with good 'cooked to order' choices. The hallway was totally freezing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Comfy and cosy. Great breakfast. Pool and outdoor jacuzzi really good. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Lovely hotel next to the university

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Lovely room and furnishings
Cons: Beds were not very comfortable at all and a bit too low. The shower over the bath was good but it drained very slowly...bit yucky!
Location: Visited the uni. Some lovely walks down by the duck pond. Pubs/places to eat on campus. Shopped in town...lovely city. Lots of other places nearby
Great hotel next to the university, perfect for two Lancaster alumni on a weekend trip down memory lane :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Everything on point 👌🏼 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😏
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the university

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Welcoming staff
Location: Lancaster a small city which has many places to visit
Very good staff were very friendly. Food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south london

Close to uni

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Room comfortable although very cold and took several hours to warm up once heater had been out on full blast. Bathroom also very cold with no way of warming it up. Ate in restaurant which wasnt the best. Goats cheese tart - onion in it raw, pastry was very amateurish and the Parkin cake had been warmed up in the microwave and slightly over done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely cosy atmosphere!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Cosy Food Bed extremely comfy
Cons: Handling of rowdy parties as party room is near to where other guests sit for quiet drinks
Location: On university campus, great for those visiting the uni. Town 15min drive away, very easily reached.
Great food, great cosy atmosphere, helpful staff, gorgeous bedrooms, very comfy facilities. We had a great stay and will 100% be returning. Only complaint was a staff party was going on while we were having a quiet drink and (VERY) drunk revellers were not asked to take screaming and shouting elsewhere so they were stumbling around and yelling in the cosy sitting area where other guests were trying to have quiet drinks. They could have easily been kept away from certain areas, especially as the staff were from another hotel run by the same people as Lancaster House. Whilst we could abide this I'm not sure others would, I just think in future it should be handled differently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Picturescque

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Hidden charges - at the time of the booking I was told breakfast was included
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa break

Posted Dec 12, 2016
First night mattress on the bed was the wrong way round and therefore didn't sleep very good. Staff turned it over for our second night and we slept better. Spa treatments ok, but had better.