Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely cosy atmosphere!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Cosy Food Bed extremely comfy
Cons: Handling of rowdy parties as party room is near to where other guests sit for quiet drinks
Location: On university campus, great for those visiting the uni. Town 15min drive away, very easily reached.
Great food, great cosy atmosphere, helpful staff, gorgeous bedrooms, very comfy facilities. We had a great stay and will 100% be returning. Only complaint was a staff party was going on while we were having a quiet drink and (VERY) drunk revellers were not asked to take screaming and shouting elsewhere so they were stumbling around and yelling in the cosy sitting area where other guests were trying to have quiet drinks. They could have easily been kept away from certain areas, especially as the staff were from another hotel run by the same people as Lancaster House. Whilst we could abide this I'm not sure others would, I just think in future it should be handled differently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Picturescque

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Hidden charges - at the time of the booking I was told breakfast was included
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa break

Posted Dec 12, 2016
First night mattress on the bed was the wrong way round and therefore didn't sleep very good. Staff turned it over for our second night and we slept better. Spa treatments ok, but had better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

A nice place to stay on the campus

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The lobby and the bar are really nice. Specially the bar is a great place to have some work done.
Cons: The bathroom faucets should be replaced with modern ones.
It is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. The location is the best if you are visiting Lancaster University.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Good quality hotel, things need improving

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The room was lovely and clean and the reception staff were very nice and helpful. The only things that would have improved our stay would've been if there were some nice grounds to walk round and also the bar on the evening was ridiculous. It was like they were all training staff. It took us 20 mins to get served and there were two couples before us. Also they didn't know how to make a snowball which was on the menu, I had to tell them. Also the bar had a terrible smell like beer had been spilt and not cleaned up properly. It smelled like off beer. I had just proposed to my girlfriend this night and so wanted a posh romantic meal, the food was amazing but the large table full of young teenagers screaming and shouting whilst people were trying to have a nice meal really put us off. Especially when they were all stood up talking right behind my back whilst I was eating and they were messing about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Excellent hotel, excellent location, great staff

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Lovely room, good location (whether you need to be at the uni or not) bus stops into town nearby. I cannot rate this place enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for work or leisure

Posted Dec 1, 2016
One night stop over with work. Great room, fabulous quality breakfast and lovely evening bar meal. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pamper break

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: We visited the Priory,the castle and prison where we had a most interesting tour. Sadly the Judges Lodging houses are no longer open to the public.
The staff couldn't,t have been more helpful. My friend had problems with her car and Emma arranged help from a local garage. We happened to mention to the head housekeeper that we were going to a local attraction and having local knowledge she thought it may be closed. She made a phone call and saved us a wasted journey. They had no elderflower presse on the first night to make an advertised cocktail. When I enquirer the second night the bar manager went out and bought some. In the Spa, the manageress altered our afternoon tea to a more convenient day for us. Everyone was most friendly and helpful throughout our visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Easy to get to from the M6
Staff very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness of rooms good. Very poor view from bedroom - looked right on to a wall and external staircase. Sure this was the exception rather than the rule but disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality feel and warm welcome

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Fantastic hotel, we have stayed there before and will be staying there again. The huge log fire in the main reception area is amazing this time of year.