Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value comfortable stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Reception staff were very helpful , bed was comfortable and rooms clean Breakfast was lovely and on till 11am allowing a lay in and no rushing about in the morning Location convenient for m6 and 2 mile walk city centre Would highly recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Most things
Having read other reviews I was surprised by the dated decor and general ancient feel to the whole place. Specific grievances are that there were dirty cups in the room, a dirty sock left over (I assume) from a previous guest, window found open after check-in making the room extremely cold, the towel rail was so hot and so close to the toilet that I had to cover it with towels to prevent scolding, despite a lift, there was no way to access the room without some stairs being involved and finally the food in the restaurant was tasteless and bland. All in all had in not been for the location would not bother, cannot recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from preston, UK

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Arrived at the hotel and checked in, had to walk up two flights of stairs with lots of heavy luggage and staff did not ask if we needed help. Arrived in the room to find and incect on the floor in the bathroom, the towel in the bathroom also had black marks. Loud noises heard in the middle of the night from on top of the room even though we were on the top floor. Also absolutely boiling at night and there was no thermastat available in the room! Would never stay here again, have received better rooms in cheaper and worse hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel but bathroom needed deepclean

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Excellent stay let down by dirty bathroom and lack of attention to detail regarding cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for a stopover en route to Scotland

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
really good hotel and very near to M6 junction so a really handy and convenient stop over hotel when on a long journey up North to Scotland without have to take a big detour away from the route.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming convenient and friendly

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is convenient for the local area, close to M6 but not at all noisy. very comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tickled Trout

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with a little TLC, it's looking a bit worn. Checking in took 20 minutes, even though there was only one person ahead of me. They could really trim that whole process. I noticed the receptionist when I checked in at 8.30pm was on at 7.30am next morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arrived late

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived very late no problems room all good but only bar snacks available on check out asked for an invoice and was told NO you booked via a 3rd party so no I was taken aback with this and should have explained the reason first
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels