Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We stayed for three nights in August. It is situated where it is easy to get about - close to the M6. The river at the back of the hotel makes for pleasant views across. There is also a varied amount of wildlife on and around the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Traveller

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Staff excellent, room spacious and clean, free wifi, very ambient bar area, not enough fish in fish pie. Will return and would recommend - just not the fish pie!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Excellent hotel, well done MacDonald!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Excellent stay. This was only a convenient stop over to break up a long journey, but turned out to be one of the best nights sleep of the whole holiday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PH7

Excellent stop off en route to South

Posted Jun 16, 2015
We loved our visit and the friendliness of the staff. Only two small points were that there is only one easy chair in double rooms. Why? There are two people staying. The other is that a full breakfast price of £15 is over the top, even for this standard of hotel. In my experience of many high quality hotels the breakfast cost should be around £8 to provide reasonable value for money and still provide a good profit for the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Woking

Presto a little gem

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Handy stop over travelling to Scotland
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted May 20, 2015
Great hotel. Great staff. We stayed at the hotel for a week while visiting family in Hutton. The hotel was conveniently located to the motorway and the morning breakfast got us ready to start each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable. Motorway on doorstep.

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. Been here prior to MacDonald taking over. The hotel has improved. Booked two rooms for Sat night stay. Both same price at £63 B&B. One with double bed and river view, the other with king bed overlooking carpark. No noise disturbance. Plentiful breakfast and pleasant waiting staff. Restaurant in the main overlooking the river. Definitely would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay.

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at the Tickled Trout one night on business. My room was clean and pleasant over-looking the river. The M6 runs nearby, so very handing for access, with little noise unless the window is open.