Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Fair hotel handy for motorway users.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Good rate from Expedia. Lovely room and great breakfast included in rate. Staff decent enough but no personality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wemyss Bay

Nice hotel but needs improvement

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Firstly when booking online watch you don't get conned by the site stating breakfast is included only when you confirm you find out it is continental breakfast only and you have to pay extra for a cooked one. Room was stifling hot. No air con and tv reception is terrible as is wifi quality
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Traffic noise all night

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms
Cons: Attention to detail, customer focus, restaurant quality and service
Location: Brockholes is a surprising treat.
Rooms spacious and comfy but no air con and the hotel is right by the M6 and A59 so traffic noise is constant, worsened by needing windows open in warmer weather. Advertises as a Scottish Steakhouse as a restaurant and so cooking steaks well would be the first order, i wasn't the only one to send my steak back and if i had to eat there again i would order off another part of the menu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Handy for business use

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: easy of access from motorway for quick stop over
Cons: staff attitude
slightly disappointing as there was no shower / shampoo in my room and on checkout I mentioned to staff at desk who said he would pass onto house keeping but there was no apology
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but dated hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Not quite to the usual standard of a Macdonald hotel. Rooms are in need of refurbishment and bedding smelt of cigarette smoke
2 out of 5
by John

Find somewhere else

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor breakfast, truly woeful wifi, continuous road noise. Go elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by Graeme from Glasgow

Tickled Trout didn't tickle our fancy

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived and checked in speedily went to room and checked bedding The quilt was all lumpy and didn't replicate other MacDonald hotels Upon checking bedding there was a urine stain on the quilt cover so this clearly has not been changed from previous customer use. The lounge area sitting having a drink with a spider and it's cobwebs in the lamp next to us. These two items of hygiene and general cleanliness made our decision not to have breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Preston

Don't stay if you're disabled

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
I'm sorr to say that if you are disabled, this hotel has nothing offer. My husband was unable to take a shower as the disabled room only had a bath, and rooms with showers, the step up was too height and the door wouldn't open wide enough. None of the rooms are accessible without going through a fire exit at the side of the hotel into a lift which hardly fit a wheelchair, which meant you had to go back through his he fire exit in the morning and around to the front of the hotel to get to breakfast, great when it's raining!! Felt like second class citizens
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: the location was ideal for us as we were attending a wedding just up the road and its just off the motorway.
check in was very good,my wife has just had a knee replacement and the young lady on reception swapped our room around so that we were on the ground floor and close to reception all of the staff were so helpful.
5 out of 5
by Phil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels