Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
I quite enjoyed the hotel however the food can be better especially the potato chips that they gave us tasted like it was from the morning and they warmed it up. It was not fresh at all. With the staff 2 Indian originated staff one at the reception one in the restaurant were very friendly and service oriented. The rest could try to smile a bit more since it is hospitality service. I like the atmosphere of the hotel and it was quite clean. The other thing is they sell the water l understand they don't want to provide complimentary water but it would be reachable for the customers when they want to drink it. All they need to do is to put a price tag on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel near to all places we visited.

Posted May 30, 2017
Enjoyed every minute. Met up with family who are still living in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster UK

Good hotel .

Posted May 15, 2017
Very good breakfast.room dated and small, bed not very comfortable.staff helpful and efficient ,overall good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hexham

hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: near family.
Cons: staff manners in swimming area.
over price rooms. only paid for room only. room was clean. but wash basin need replacing, as had a hairline crack in it. not accepable at £80 a night. though i was getting bedfast. so be careful when booking. very mis leading on the inett.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel lovely setting

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lovely setting. Great staff.. was upgraded as room smelt of cigarettes.. upgrade was just bigger but still tatty... great big bed and basic facilities .. all a bit tired looking .. do not understand why showers are mouldy .. new pink mould !! .. when bleached everyday!! Other than that good stay ..
2 out of 5
by kirsty

OK but bedrooms need updating

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Shared areas very nice. Bedrooms need a massive refurb. Our bedrooms were outside through a courtyard so we got soaked 3 times going back and forth to get cases, to dinner and then back again - same in the morning. The courtyard itself was nice but the fountain was loud and ran into the night. Shower was pathetic. Very old fashioned rooms. Lighting terrible. Food was ok but they had a bar and a restaurant that served the same bar food. Staff were all very nice. Didn't use the spa.
5 out of 5
by joanne

great hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, comfortable courtyard room and great "all you can eat" breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Quiet and cozy!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Lovely hotel with great facilities. Friendly and helpful staff are on hand for your every need!
1 out of 5
by Charles

Disappointing

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
I stay in may places from contractor's B&B's to posh hotels. If this had been a contractor's B&B then this room would have been fine...but it was meant to be a posh hotel. The room was stone cold and the electric panel heater was switched off when i arrived at 9.00 pm. By the time I went to bed at 11.00 the room was still not warm. The bathroom door was hanging off it's hinges the shower dribbled like a cheap electric shower. Why didn't I complain at the time - because after a very long day what i needed most was sleep and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Nice hotel and good service.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Not a bad stay, room was OK, a couple of minor repairs needed, unable to open a blind and a patch of wallpaper in need of attention, other than that all good.