Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louth

Central To City Centre & Secure Parking

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The Hotel is central to most activities and comes with secure parking at £5.00P for your stay be it 1 night or 6 still £5.00p.
Cons: The Hotel is an old building & this must be taken into account when booking your stay however it as some beautiful internal features.
Location: Central location with numerous fine dinning & ale houses to frequent as well as being close to The Lake District & Morecambe.
My wife & I arrived on Sunday 19 June for a 6 night break & we were overwhelmed by the 2 reception staff Charlotte & Louise they were just so charming, helpful & very caring, this got our stay off to the best of ways & it was just magnified with all our contact with other members of staff from Katie Housekeeping & TV repair she had a great sense of humour & with the humour she was also just so nice & helpful. Must mention THE CHEF Simon my wife & I have stayed in numerous Hotels throughout our 45 years of visiting various worldwide locations & Simons BREAKFASTS have to be the best ever. Keep up the great work Chef & mines 2 pieces of BLACK PUDDING. Must mention also young Jordon the most charming of waiting staff who added to our breakfast experience.( Hope you get you Haggis Jordon ).Now to the maintenance team or should I say Andy what a great guy any problems with your room or advise on the local area Andy is the man to see. Change those drawers. Thanks Andy. We can not remember everyone's names apologies ( comes with being OAP,s ) but you were all absolutely FANTASTIC & a great big THANKYOU to everyone for making our stay just perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Very Reasonable

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Good price & location
Cons: Refresh decorations
My stay was fine, the hotel is well located, I got a good nights sleep & breakfast, but some refresh would do no harm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Good location close to station, but on a busy street. Suited for an overnight stay to visit University
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Weekend in Lancaster

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Locatio, staff, breakfast. Hotel has character.
Cons: In need of rennovation
Location: Restaurants, near Lancaster Castle. Handy for bus and train stations.
The hotel is quite old fashioned and probably needs some rennovation. However everything works and it is in a great location. The staff were very pleasant and breakfasts are fabulous. Also reasonably priced for Lancaster which seems to have rather expensive hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BURY

convenient hotel for business trip

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel is very old, needs a full overhall, rooms and corridors very old fashioned and shabby.
Location: in the centre and close to restaurants and shops.
The room was very poor, radiator switched on all night and on/off switch broken. Had to leave the window open all night. Bathroom was shabby, cracked walls and dirty. Generally the standard of interior decoration in the room was very poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Close to town

Posted May 31, 2016
Close to town and railway station but hotel is VERY run down and in need of major repairs windows filthy paint work terrible we were frightened to walk about in room too much as the floor creaked so much, carpets on the stairs very shabby
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted May 28, 2016
The hotel was ok. I will stand by my review I do not tell lies You just do not like the truth, this is the 2nd time I have given you a review and you did not accept my review the first time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wirral

worst hotel I have ever stayed at !!

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: the one staff member
Cons: all
Location: lancaster/lots to see and do
stayed one night sunday room was a single wallpaper hanging off walls bath/shower mold bed very uncomfortable. no room service no bar no hot food for breakfast only one staff member around will not stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very old and shabby hotel.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Position, breakfast.
Cons: All public areas need a good clean and rooms need upgrading.
Location: Very near to main shopping streets and the castle, river and restaurants.
We booked two nights back in February as we were meeting up with friends as this was a place halfway between where we both live. We then had to arrivd one night earlier due to a change in my husbznd's plans. Hotel foyer and reception is quite dismal and the lift is ancient. We were given room 201 which is pretty small. The bathroom is in a terrible state with a big lump out of the door, paint flaked off the bath panel, cracked toilet, ceiling caving in and stained, stained bath surround and the shower curtain was completely rusty. The view is great, as the hotel overlooks the castle and the position is excellent. The window was dirty with handprints on it and the rail was filthy and looked like it had not been cleaned for a very long time as if had what looked like dried worm casts on it, which remained all the time we were there. Reception was hit and miss as I suspect the staff were cleaning rooms too and we sometimes had to wait 10 minutes for our key. The stairs were not cleaned during our stay. Dining room is lovely and the breakfaxt cannot be faulted although the staff were a bit dizzy. A good choice of breakfast. We requested a room change on various occasions but were told that the hotel was fully booked until Saturday with a coach party and staff apologized for our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegenes Hotel mit Charme der geschichte

Posted May 21, 2016
Tapeten, die sich ablösen; die Wasserregelung der Dusche nicht bändigbar, so dass am Ende nur ein Bad herauskam; und Ankunft um 8:10 im Frühstücksraum, eine Reisegruppe von 28 Personen hat das Buffet geleert.