Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap (ish) Bed in the Centre

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Central Car park Cheap
Cons: I'm sure everything will change when it is done up. Meanwhile, you get what you pay for.
football fan passing through. Cheap and comfortable o'night bed and shower (room only) whilst renovations awaited. Handy for centre cafes with good breakfasts, shops and pubs. Car park (£5) was fair value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016
late booking but a good choice. décor a bit tired looking. room and comfort good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

hotel in city centre

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: in Lancaster city centre
Cons: TV poor...very few stations...but that doesn't really matter because I didn't go to watch TV
Location: I went for a litfest which was just 50 m away. I ate at night with friends in a lovely restaurant only 100m away. Train station also VERY close. Ideal
A little bit run down but I enjoyed my stay and expected less for the price I paid. Excellent choice for continental breakfast...I really enjoyed mine. Staff nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Was expensive for quality

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Arrived at 1320 told no check in until 1400, no effort made to see if room was available. Came back at 1415 shown to room, having read the website was not expecting it to be so outdated. It was a short walk from station and town centre is very close. The bathroom was horrendous. Rotting wood, stains on ceiling in both B'room and above bed. Hole in underside of door and towel rail was on floor. Bed was a V small double. Paint work had been done by work Ex, shoddy and untidy.
1 out of 5
by Ann from Leeds

not what you expect

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
the windows had gaps in them, cracks on the walls, shower was something from 1800s, cold room, no wifi, no bar to relax in, room didn't look anything like what was on the website, staff were friendly, tea and coffee facilities were lapse 1 milk cup, 1 satchet of tea and coffee each, we got there late and was hoping to relax in the bar before getting ready for an interview, had to leave the hotel for a drink of anything..
4 out of 5
by Ginette from London

Nice friendly hotel in central location

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Royal Kings Arms, it was a great central location for a great price and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose the continental breakfast which was very nice, we cannot comment on cooked food. You must remember this is a 19th C hotel with lovely period features and it should be enjoyed as such, yes some tlc would improve it greatly but the more people stay here the more these things can be funded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

We got a full refund and left

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The rooms were in a poor state of repair. Holes in carpets wallpaper peeling from the walls damp smells and mould present. Broken windows with sellotape used as a repair the staff offered an upgrade which was in a similar condition. I left the hotel with a full refund. The staff stated they knew the rooms were not fit for use and an refurbishment would be taking place in the next 9 months
2 out of 5
by Aileen from Glasgow

Lancaster stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
A bit steep charging for car park, a spare piece of ground at the back of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Mid Wales

Take warm PJs!

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
This was our third stay at the Kings Arms, the location is perfect in Central Lancaster. We had our usual family room plus dog. The Kings Arms is large, old and characterful hotel with creaky floorboards, ancient lift and large rooms, they provide a good cooked Lancashire breakfast with ample tea, toast, juices, cereal etc. The service is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the weather turned cold for our visit last weekend and the radiator in our room wasn't working properly so we were chilly, the bed was very hard and the duvet was too thin to keep us warm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016
A grate time in my holiday I spend in this hotel and I will recommend to all