Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

We got a full refund and left

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The rooms were in a poor state of repair. Holes in carpets wallpaper peeling from the walls damp smells and mould present. Broken windows with sellotape used as a repair the staff offered an upgrade which was in a similar condition. I left the hotel with a full refund. The staff stated they knew the rooms were not fit for use and an refurbishment would be taking place in the next 9 months
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016
A grate time in my holiday I spend in this hotel and I will recommend to all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal Kings Arms

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Great Central Location to downtown Lancaster. Our family room had single glazing that did not seal tightly. We asked for a new room. New room had storm windows and much cozier. Breakfast buffet is good with hot food served from a brief menu. Several leaks in the building but Storm Desmond had just dumped 13" in 24 hours! Flooded lower Lancaster. And Dickens stayed here, so gives you some idea how old the building is. Not their fault really. Staff is courteous and willing to help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wall paper falling off walls

Posted Jan 2, 2016
When we got there the hotel seemed really nice and while walking up the stairs there were buckets full of water due to the rain and I mean every floor had buckets on the stairs, we got into the room its was to had just felt damp and didn't feel very inviting and the wall paper was falling off the walls!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2015
No shower, bath only. Wallpaper dangling off the ceiling . Cold and noisy room. No cooked breakfast . Staff pleasant but still couled not recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good but a bit shabby

Posted Dec 8, 2015
It is fair to say that this hotel is a bit run down but the important things are OK. The rooms may be a bit tired but they are clean with nice crisp sheets and comfy beds. The Lancashire breakfast is great. The staff are all really friendly. It can't be too bad because this was the 4th time we have stayed there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in need of some tlc

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The hotel was in a perfect location up near the castle with fabulous views of the city. Also directly opposite the main door was a lovely couple of restaurants with good food and live music very reasonable priced. The downside is the hotel is a little shabby, and not really very clean. A good layer of dust sat on the trouser press, I couldn't shut the window fully, the electrical accessories like the kettle and hairdryer hadn't been electrically tested since 2009 showing their age. There was a badly patched up hole in the bathroom wall, the paintwork was in need of a sprucing up, I found a tangled old gold chain in the bed so I'll leave you to make your own conclusions on that. The breakfast was tasty but on the second day when the restaurant was busier it was cold. I think generally this hotel has signs of being a wonderful place to stay but I feel it needs an injection of money and more staff to manage this spectacular building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stavanger

Langhelg i Lancaster

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Personlig likte jeg veldig godt den litt gammeldagse atmosfæren, og beliggenheten er jo fantastisk
Cons: Det er nok en del som kan oppgraderes. Når vi var der hadde de vært uheldige å få en vannlekkasje, noe jeg regner med blir utbedret snarest.
Location: Rett ved "alt".
Dette er , som beskrevet i mange anmeldelser, et gammelt hotell. Vi ble godt mottatt og tatt vare på. Servicen var kjempegod og personalet meget hjelpsomme. Vi fikk rom i øverste etasje , noe som innebar at vi fikk brukt den litt annerledes heisen ganske mye. Litt uvant heis, men nostalgisk. Spisesalen var et syn, og frokosten kjempebra. Hotellet ligger jo midt i byen, så det var et veldig praktisk valg, Kort vei til alt. Hotellet ligger rett ved slottet (vi hadde utsikt fra rommet til dette). Det må bare besøkes! Vi hadde en fantastisk guide som gjorde omvisningen spennende for hele familien. Vi kommer nok til å bruke dette ved flere anledninger.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terribly odd hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Very weird room. There was lightswitch but no actual ceiling light so the switch operated absolutely nothing. The only source of light for the room was two lamps. The TV was wallmounted to angle towards the bed, but obviously by someone who didn't really understand wallmounting. The TV's width meaning it barely angled at all before crunching against the wall. Overall, it was clean and the staff helpful, but it was like I was staying in a hotel that was trying to parody hotels from the 70's but not quite getting the parody right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
The lift was like something out of a horror film and the shower was broken in the room. the staff were nice though