Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Exceptionally friendly village pub

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff, great real ale, lovely comfy room, fabulous cooked breakfast.
Cons: n/a
Location: Beautiful location, stunning views, great for walkers
The staff at the Coach House were all highly professional but very friendly and welcoming. The place is well appointed and comfortable, with a lovely atmosphere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Advance Booking No Guarantee

Posted Feb 21, 2016
We booked a superior room in advance as part of a special trip to Bentham to visit elderly friends of the family. In spite of the 'guarantee' of a booking with Expedia when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the room we had booked wasn't available as guests previously staying at the hotel had, at short notice, requested a further night's stay. We were offered a room at The Black Bull for £60. In our view that room wasn't adequate. The manager's 'teflon' explanation for overriding our booking - 'it's our fault but it's not our fault - we were between a rock and a hard place' was unsatisfactory. The staff could not have cared less. Why, for instance, wasn't The Black Bull offered to the other guests? So be warned - an advance booking counts for nothing. Be very wary if you book this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Tony from crewe

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
meals great the breakfast is incredible thanks
3 out of 5
by Rachael from UK

Good value hotel in a pretty countryside area

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Although the room was small it was clean & had all the required facilities The bathroom was newly refurbished & the shower was excellent Overall good value for money Excellent breakfast Car park was rather a trek with luggage Would have preferred to have been told there was a live singer on the Saturday night we stayed as the sound travelled up to our room
5 out of 5
by philip from Aylesbury

Good Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, great evening meals, nice room, super breakfasts. Excellent and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by philip from Aylesbury

Good hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, Good Evening meal, Nice room and great breakfast. Excellent and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Jason from Manchester

Work stopover

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great little pub Great food Nice people Lovely part of the country Was funny listening to the elderly couple sat at the bar slagging people from Manchester off especially as I'm from there hahaha # thick skin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NICE hotel, excellent food.

Posted May 4, 2015
A very nice inn close to north Yorkshire dales. Very good food. Rooms are good, with facilities as you would expect for the price. The night was a bit noisy as there was a show down stairs. But that can be excused as an exception.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go to The Bull across the road

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, young staff did what they could
Cons: Put management in. Have Robinsons incentivise to make it a profitable business
Staff good but inexperienced, rooms fine but everyones gone home by 10pm leaving guests to fend for themselves.... Not good when the fire alarm goes after that! Don't stay there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saltburn

Good base for walking, parking can be a problem

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels
A nice pub in a nice village. The room was clean but cluttered, very good if you like lots of fancy cushions on the bed. The room was clean and breakfast was good but the service poor, Breakfast was from 9-10am, and at 10am the coffee pot was taken away. There is no parking so you have to park in the public car park at the back of the hotel,gaining access from the fire door on the first floor, walking across the metal gangway and out of the large wooden gate at the back of the yard. I only just got parked on my second visit to the car park.