Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

one night stay close to motorway

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, warmth of room in winter
Cons: would have liked breakfast in the morning
Location: near to motorway and services
we stayed one night in the holly on long drive to the north. arrived at 9p, too late for dinner. staff was welcoming and efficient. room was large, comfy bed and linens, big fluffy towels, warm room on cold, rainy day, very welcoming. underfloor heating in bathroom. clean and tidy. would have liked hot breakfast in morning, but none was on offer. tea and coffee in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Room was large and comfortable.
Cons: I was disappointed that there was only one real ale on that night - and particularly that that ran out before the evening was over.
Location: We were there to visit friends from where we used to live.
We stayed over for one night as we were having a meal at the hotel. As the hotel do not do breakfast, we were up early, and went into ~Morecambe for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent overnight stay.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: The Hotel is right on the A6 and within easy reach of Garstang/Lancaster and Preston.
Very friendly and homely hotel. Great overnight stay,excellent meal and nice quiet room. Well recomended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely spacious clean rooms

Posted Oct 26, 2016
We had an overnight stay, room was spacious, clean and good value the staff were very friendly, we had 3 children aged 4, 7 and 8 and had a meal in the restaurant, it was excellent, we all enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wokingham

Nice and comfy

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff, decent size room.
Cons: Water pressure to the shower
Location: We visited Lake Windermere and went on a boat, but mostly we were visiting our son.
This pub was just perfect for us as we were visiting our son, who lives very nearby, so lack of breakfast did not matter to us. We had a very good room, which was a nice size and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was good, apart from the water pressure in the shower being very slow. Overall, for the money paid, it was good value and we would definitely use again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Stop over hotel to break journey

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good sized room and nice ensuite.
Cons: Standard of food and service.
Location: No applicable
The room we had was a really good size with a nice en suite, but windows were half frosted so a bit claustrophobic. I think this was because you would have been looking onto fans from the kitchen below, which were very noisy until they were switched off when the kitchen closed. We booked the restuarant for dinner on the night we were there and went down for 8 o'clock. The restuarant was not very busy but we waited about half an hour for our starter and just over an hour from sitting down for our main course, which seemed to us unacceptable. The food was very average and the beef and mushroom strauganoff was almost all mushrooms and only about two pieces of beef which was very dissappointing. All the staff seemed to vacate the premises overnight which I found a bit disconcerting if there had been any problems during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Out of Nowhere, An Oasis!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Outstandingly diverse menu, great food---well-prepared!
Cons: Perhaps less firm mattresses?
Location: Loads of Lancashire attractions in the area.
The Holly (or The New Holly) was a welcoming and friendly inn between Lancaster and Preston along the A6. There was plenty of parking, and The Holly boasts an excellent bar and an awesome menu. Our dinner meal was wonderful! Checkout was fairly simple: prepay upon arrival (or before), pay for any meal or beverages before retiring for the evening, and simply drop the keys in the box next o the exit on your way out in the morning. The bed was definitely one for those who prefer a very firm mattress. Unfortunately, The New Holly does not serve breakfast---although Barton Grange (Garden Centre) has a wonderful café/restaurant that serves a great breakfast until 11:00 a.m. and if located about 6 miles south of The New Holly just off the A6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Needed a place to stay whilst visiting lancaster university. very well situated only 5 minutes off of M6 and 8 minutes away from university. Had a very nice evening meal there and comfortable stay in large bed and room. Excellent value for money. Concerned if we would hear bar noise but all quiet by 10pm on a friday! Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Room very clean and tidy

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Bath and tea making facilities
Cons: Staff could be more helpful on arrival.
Location: Ideal location just off M6
Best to have breakfast across the road if open,as to arrange this is difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good stopover

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Clean, comfortable, friendly. No breakfast served but restaurant with great selection for evening meal