Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent overnight stay.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: The Hotel is right on the A6 and within easy reach of Garstang/Lancaster and Preston.
Very friendly and homely hotel. Great overnight stay,excellent meal and nice quiet room. Well recomended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely spacious clean rooms

Posted Oct 26, 2016
We had an overnight stay, room was spacious, clean and good value the staff were very friendly, we had 3 children aged 4, 7 and 8 and had a meal in the restaurant, it was excellent, we all enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wokingham

Nice and comfy

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff, decent size room.
Cons: Water pressure to the shower
Location: We visited Lake Windermere and went on a boat, but mostly we were visiting our son.
This pub was just perfect for us as we were visiting our son, who lives very nearby, so lack of breakfast did not matter to us. We had a very good room, which was a nice size and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was good, apart from the water pressure in the shower being very slow. Overall, for the money paid, it was good value and we would definitely use again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Stop over hotel to break journey

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good sized room and nice ensuite.
Cons: Standard of food and service.
Location: No applicable
The room we had was a really good size with a nice en suite, but windows were half frosted so a bit claustrophobic. I think this was because you would have been looking onto fans from the kitchen below, which were very noisy until they were switched off when the kitchen closed. We booked the restuarant for dinner on the night we were there and went down for 8 o'clock. The restuarant was not very busy but we waited about half an hour for our starter and just over an hour from sitting down for our main course, which seemed to us unacceptable. The food was very average and the beef and mushroom strauganoff was almost all mushrooms and only about two pieces of beef which was very dissappointing. All the staff seemed to vacate the premises overnight which I found a bit disconcerting if there had been any problems during the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Out of Nowhere, An Oasis!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Outstandingly diverse menu, great food---well-prepared!
Cons: Perhaps less firm mattresses?
Location: Loads of Lancashire attractions in the area.
The Holly (or The New Holly) was a welcoming and friendly inn between Lancaster and Preston along the A6. There was plenty of parking, and The Holly boasts an excellent bar and an awesome menu. Our dinner meal was wonderful! Checkout was fairly simple: prepay upon arrival (or before), pay for any meal or beverages before retiring for the evening, and simply drop the keys in the box next o the exit on your way out in the morning. The bed was definitely one for those who prefer a very firm mattress. Unfortunately, The New Holly does not serve breakfast---although Barton Grange (Garden Centre) has a wonderful café/restaurant that serves a great breakfast until 11:00 a.m. and if located about 6 miles south of The New Holly just off the A6.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from West Yorkshire

Great Value

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Attentive staff, good food, clean large room and good value. Will definitely use The Holly again next time I need to stay in the area.
3 out of 5
by Mrs C from WORCESTER

cont. Our room had NO view just load of noisy extr

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Food was good but expensive. There was an excellent bus service which went to a good selection of coast and country destinations to visit as a rest from driving. We were told that a mile away there was a barn with locally produced food, we couldn't visit it as it started to rain heavy. there were very good views of the lake districtwhen we were out walking thro the village.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
I had the deluxe room (room 5) it was extremely comfortable & clean. The staff were very welcoming. I ate in the pub that night, excellent food. Shame they don't do breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Auckland

Great stopover on a long journey.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Bar and restaurant service was fantastic with staff that really wanted to look after our family. Food was a big surprise with tasty meals of high standard fresh ingredients. Room could use a little updating and hallway carpet needed some work but overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value family room for an overnight stop

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
We needed a good family room close to M6 for an overnight stay en route to Scotland and this ticked all the boxes. Good price, tasty meal in the pub, friendly staff and a clean room with separate beds for both children - no having to share a sofa bed or an uncomfortable put-you-up. Would happily use again. You can't get breakfast but we brought some brioches with us,which was fine.