Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired elegance

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We were looking for a hotel with character, and from other reviews and photos we thought The Imperial would be a bit tired but with touches of bygone elegance. I can see the potential if a major hotel group came in and did a multi-million reno to bring back the glory days and bring the rooms up to modern standards, but for now I'm sad to say we probably would have been better off in a Premier Inn- new, all mod cons. The Imperial has a great, seafront, central location to all the attractions (mostly closed out of season) and an easy walk to the Winter Garden where we attended an event. The breakfast buffet was good, and the dining room appeared to have been redone more recently. Overall, the hotel is a bit shabby and grim. The staff was very nice and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Nice hotel a bit outdated more like 3 star than 4 star this was once a top hotel but feel like it needs a makeover best thing was the beds as very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

First Aid Competition

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Bingo. Railway station. Hundreds of shops.
Very comfortable hotel with lovely friendly staff. Close to all amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, Australia

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Excellent service,lovely old hotel with old values. walking distance to shops, entertainment and restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

I never ever go back there.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Beautiful sea, long peaceful walks, restaurants.
The standard double room is not that what advertised on photos; that is much smaller, outdated, does not smell very nice. Bathroom is so tight, there is no room for an adult. We had no heating whatsoever - even on highest on the radiator. I think it should not be like that in November. Paint flakes and hair on the carpet. Everything was wonky and tatty, like nobody touched room since 1960's. Hot water was not hot at all. Towel bar did not work. Glass in bathroom was dirty. An A3 paper was the tray for kettle, coffee-tea and mugs. Little things like these... A famous four star hotel could not afford these things. I have been in nicer and better B&B. When check-in, receptionist man was not nice, welcoming and friendly at all, I would call this behaviour arrogant and phlegmatic. I got so disappointed and upset when arrived, I wanted to complain, but my girlfriend calmed me down, so I did not, and I tried to focus on our good mood and holiday. This hotel is one of the nicest looking, most beautiful hotel to me, that is why I took my girlfriend there, but they spoiled our vacation. My overall opinion is very bad about this hotel, these things are not acceptable by me, they should not get away with these. The housekeepers were very nice people - that is good point. Unfortunately I will avoid this hotel in future, will go somewhere else, it was a terrible experience to me. I think if someone has high expectations for good service, I personally recommend to choose another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Imperial Hotel Blackpool October 2016

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Blackpool can be run down and old in places, however The Imperial Hotel is certainly not. This is a well run, very clean and well-maintained hotel. I would certainly recommend as this is a family friendly hotel and is in a perfect location for viewing Blackpool, with a short walk to Blackpool Tower and a tram stop on the doorstep . The hotel met our every need, by supplying a travel cot for our 2 year old son, a fridge for his milk and even supplied us with milk when we ran out. The hotel does have parking for an additional £5 a day. I would also recommend the breakfast, with a huge variety and a lovely view of the sea front. I will certainly be booking up again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Atmospheriic.old
Cons: Datk. Long queues for breakfast. Cold room
Very dark everywhere. No good for visually impaired guests. Old fashioned. Needs updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffs

Lovely hotel with a great atmosphere

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: It's in a very good location. The bar area was lovely and the price and quality of drinks was very reasonable. Ample parking facilities.
Cons: the first room we were allocated had a tiny bathroom but when I told reception they moved us to a much nicer room with a very spacious bathroom so we were very happy.
Location: a short walk to the nearest shops, bars and restaurants. Good location on the main promenade in a quiet location on the outskirts of the North shore
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4* hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Not very happy ! This is not a 4star hotel ! Lot of people got there money back ! Not happy and I will not use this again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Classic Blackpool Hotel.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful reception/lounge area. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Swimming pool was lovely but access was limited. Breakfast was delicious but dining hall crammed. Direct parking at hotel was excellent and at £5 a day reasonable.
Cons: The hotel is huge and even once you have taken the lift to your floor you may have quite a walk to your room! If all standard room are in a similar condition, bathrooms and Windows need updating. The pool facility is lovely but children's swimming lessons were taking place during our stay (we were not advised of this) so access was limited. The ladies steam room was also closed with no signage as to why. Breakfast hall felt crammed and seat heights were uneven at the tables.
Location: Reasonable walk to town centre. Very limited number of bars etc close by. Tram stop right outside so easy access to all of Blackpool using that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Alison G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments, I do appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves and I'll follow up your comments with the team. Thanks again, best wishes, Alison