Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

this is a pub with rooms

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: we had good hearty food
Cons: re-stocking of tea making items: no milk provided bathroom: floor and bath area not clean provision of towels: only one set provided
Location: n/a
generally it was ok, but there was some lack of attention to detail
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

traditional country pub

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Location ,good food & real ale!
Very pleasant staff. Excellent food & drink. Needs a refurb especially the bedroom. Have stayed three times ,& would use again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night when visiting family. Very friendly staff. Lovely comfortable bed. Booked to have evening meal and we were very impressed with the food. Great breakfast. Will certainly stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, good food, beware the bells!

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Located in a nice village with great views out over the hills (from the area, not directly from the hotel). Room was small and bed creaky! Church is right next door to the hotel and the clock sounds every 15 minutes between 6 am and 11 pm. So beware if you're a light sleeper. Good breakfast and the restaurant serves very good food. Great beer !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A delightful hotel just off the M6

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed overnight on our way back to Scotland after a visit ti SE England. We arrived at 20:45, later than planned due to traffic congestion, but there was no problem checking in or having dinner. The food was superb. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and the breakfast was brilliant. The dining and bar area is delightful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place with character

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a lovely spot in a village location. It was perfect for a romantic evening for my partner and I. We've stayed here before and the staff are welcoming and friendly. There's a pleasant bar area and some lovely quirky furniture. Food is great too although I wish they did breakfast until 10.30 rather than 10.00 ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great place to stay. Excellent, friendly staff!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Great service from staff.
Very comfortable, clean room with a comfy bed and plenty of tea/coffee supplies! Large bathroom with good shower. Lovely breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east midlands

Reasonable hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff are friendly
Cons: Rooms could do with an upgrade perhaps
Location: Need a car to stay here as a bit out of the way
Stayed here before thought that if we chose a executive room it would be more comfortable but unfortunately not , shower was poor had no pressure there was also no toiletries in bathroom on arrival although once we asked they were brought to us on a plus side food is lovely hotel itself could do with a bit of TLC Housekeeping lets this hotel down ie no toiletries and had to ask for teabags after room had been cleaned
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Wotif
From the moment we arrived we were attended to by the very efficient Sophie who later also doubled up as maitre de. The hotel was clean, cosy and we felt very much at home. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was very nice. Service was good. The restaurant served breakfast the next morning. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.