Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Fred & Anne

Ideal central location

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. Room excellent and Bar/ Restaurant very good value.
4 out of 5
by joyce from palm beach qld

Very well kept hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: We really liked the location
Cons: Perhaps more parking, but we did go close to bonfire night
Location: Castle, shopping, morcambe and loads of history
We found it to be in a nice quiet location very clean staff good food excellent handy to town and nice walks
5 out of 5
by ALBERTO from MADRID

Muy agradable. Excelente trato. Con encanto

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Trato y amabilidad. Comodo y con encanto
Cons: Cobertura wifi
Ideal para visitar Lancaster. Comodo y bien situado.Buena comida de pub.
4 out of 5
by Wilks from East Lancashire

Great service - Friendly staff

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels
This is a great little pub/hotel located by the river and very close to city centre. Although a little small, our room was very clean and tastefully decorated with comfy bed and a bathroom with very modern fixtures and fittings. We had our evening meal in the hotel and the standard of the food was excellent with a wide choice of menu and wines. The service from the very friendly staff was great. We were treated to a very hearty breakfast, again with plenty of choices. There is free public parking available very nearby. Would I recommend it - definitely yes. Would I go there again - will certainly be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service and Superb Food

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
This is a gem of a place. Well connected to town and the station. Comfy rooms and lovely breakfast. We would recommend having dinner here - it is so much more than standard pub grub!
5 out of 5
by Allan from Cheshire

Very good pub, food and service

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent value - room graded 4 rather than 5 because of constantly-flashin g fire/smoke detectors.....a bit hard to get to sleep. Otherwise, great.
5 out of 5
by Geoff from Cyprus

Great hotel in central location.

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Owners welcome, good room, good food and excellent beer choices.
Cons: Parking situation
Location: Excellent for access to the centre of Lancaster.
We arrived a lot earlier than the normal check in time and were just going to let them know we had arrived. The owner immediately checked us in to a room that had just serviced from the previous guests. The room was on the smallish side but had everything needed and was immaculately clean. The en suite shower was a large one with plenty of room. We had dinner in the pub that evening and the food was very good and good value. Breakfast the next morning could not be faulted with plenty of choice and was well cooked. The owners looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. The only downside is parking. There is a free car park behind the pub but finding a space was difficult. There is restricted parking on the road outside.
5 out of 5
by Peter B from Cambridge

Good value, good people

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
Extremely helpful management. Everything we needed in our room (although it might be a little small for some) Good food and drink at very reasonable prices on the premises. Friendly staff. Great location. Central but reasonably quiet and with parking easily available.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Sweden

wonderful service

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
We had a wonderful 2 nights at the Wagon & Horses. The owner Paul was very helpful and the staff were the best. On the first evening i could have a taste of differant ale,s Before choosing which one i wanted to drink.We also had a tour of the beer cellar and Paul explained the workings for us.We had a great English breakfast with a lot too choose from.A good location,just a few minutes walk from the center of Town, and with free parking behind the hotel.Would stay there again