Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The room was very comfortable but the rate is too expensive for what you get. There is no beach or attractions nearby to justify the high cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
We try to keep our rates comparable to the area, events happening and what we have to offer in way of breakfast, pool and free wifi. We do want to hear all comments and will continue to make our hotel a comfortable stay for our guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The bathroom door was hard to close .didnt like that the ice machine was on the main floor And check in was not informed about breakfast or where the ice machine was even at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Good or bad we take them to heart and try to improve our hotel. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sturgeon Bay Wisconsin

If you need a place to just stay a day or two, ok

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: a place to sleep
Cons: needs updating
Location: good
it is okay, I was expecting a bit more of a modern decor. It is in NEED of some upgrades. I believe a renovation is needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you. We appreciate all comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ILLINOIS

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Needed redecorating!!!!
Cons: All of the above!!!
Location: The location.....okay.............lots of restaurants and department stores nearby.
The staff's friendliness was not at all pleasant. The pool was in need of repairs and not open. I felt the staff's appearance should have been in better attire....not very clean. The hallway had caked, dry mud on the carpeting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
We have forwarded this to housekeeping to address the mud in hallways. Our front office manager has also spoken with front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Girlfriends getaway weekend!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Pool&hot tub were kept clean,and not to much chlorine. Close to attractions.good breakfast to start your day. It was also close to good restaurants.
Cons: We checked in later eve,we noticed the front desk worker was on the rude side.
Location: hocking hills has many amazing caves,and hiking trails, there is also a trading post in the nearby next town. Many good places to eat.
We visited the hocking hills trails&caves ,they were beautiful. Also found the trading post a worthwhile stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by L, Hotel Management
I believe this is for Logan Baymont and if not we thank you for all the nice comments and we will address our front desk staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton oh

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Stayed in this hotel two nights ago. We walked in to the exterminator talking to the manager. We asked if there was an issue we should know about. They said it was monthly inspections. Woke up around two am with bites all over us and blood on the sheets. Upon lifting the mattress we found bugs. I walked to the front desk in the middle of the night to show them all of my bites and report the issue. The manager refunded our room and apologized for the issue. She gave us trash bags to take our stuff home in. Turns out, It wasn't just our room infested. The exterminator was there to inspect other rooms, she did say he didn't check our room. The refund was great. But I'm really worried we are taking bugs home. I wish when they saw I was bringing a toddler and baby in they would have let me know about the issue. Rather than having me stay then refunding me. It would have been easier on everyone to say "yes, we do have an issue. Here is what's happening...". Now we have to take steps to make sure our car and home does not become infested as well. My babies have bites all over them. They've been complaining about the itchiness. I'm pretty upset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have contacted our exterminator to inspect the room. If you have anymore concerns please contact hotel directly. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Lancaster Stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hotel is well located and only one of three in this town. Comfortable, close to everything. Eating area very small and average breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by L, Hotel Management
Thank you and hope to see you next time in Lancaster, Ohio
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over priced for the area.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Only needed a hotel for one night and this was the cheapest hotel I found. Still felt it was over priced for the condition of the room and hotel. Could use some updates - carpet throughout the hotel was in need of replacing, bed sheets were stained and the room had an odor. The hotel staff seemed friendly. I would recommend this hotel for short stays (1 or 2 nights) but not for more than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Good or bad we take them to heart and try to improve our hotel. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster OH

Nice and comfy

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Wish the bathroom was bigger but overall pleasant courtesy desk clerk, clean comfortable room, it was quiet not riff raff, I will stay at Baymont again😃
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by L, Hotel Management
Nice to hear that your stay here at the Baymont Inn in Lancaster, Ohio was a good one. See you next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Comfortable for the price!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating..even was able to extend our stay for us for one more night on a sold out night due to a last minute change in our schedule. Room was comfortable and pretty clean. Keep in mind this is a 3 star hotel and is priced for that so if your looking for spotless and dustless everything this isnt the hotel for you! We arent picky people and it met our expectations for the price. We always check for bedbugs etc before we sleep in any hotel and this one was bedbug free..so that was definitely a plus! Breakfast was good..you had your choice of hot and cold foods. Pool could use a cleaning and the rusty fans in the pool area should be taken down and new ones put up. All in all we had a wonderful stay here and we would recommend them if your looking for a 3 stay hotel with a decent rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Glad to hear Baymont in Lancaster, Ohio met your needs for a nice stay. We will work to gain more stars. Thank you again.