Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Convenient to where we wanted to go

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: It was convenient to where we wanted to go and the jacuzzi tub was very relaxing.
Cons: The room could definitely be cleaner but the woman at the desk apologized and said she would show the cleaning person and that should not have been th
Location: Close to the outlets and some good places to eat.
The jacuzzi tub was very relaxing. The only problem was the room wasn't vacuumed very well and the free breakfast wasn't even a continental breakfast. Only had cereal bread coffee juice and coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Ok rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The room was ok. The continental breakfast was horrible. The offered toast, 2 dry cereals and a dry cheese omelette. Coffee and juice. I will not ever go back to this hotel. The pictures they show are a joke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Clean, cheap, & A/C works!

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The room & the rest of the hotel were very clean. We got a very good price thru Expedia. Unlike many hotels we’ve stayed at, the air conditioning worked beautifully! The only (minor) complaint we had was that we had a little trouble finding it. But that could have been partially due to problems with my vehicle’s GPS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville PA

exceeds expectations

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Go to Lancaster usually twice a year and stay in more expensive places. This year was just passing through for the night and booked this room based mostly because of the cheap price. Room was better than some of the places I've stayed in the area that were double or triple the price. I usually have grandkids traveling with me, and I wouldn't recommend this place with kids. But this was just my wife and I and anytime it's just the two of us this will be our hotel of choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hi Rob Thanks for you business and feed back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good hotel near everything

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Price, location, and comfort. Loved the coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator in the room.
Cons: install an off switch on the fan in the bathroom.
Location: There are great places to eat, and shop within minutes by car. Easy to find, right off the main road.
The whole hotel had a clean fresh feel. Nice room comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hi Fred Thanks for your Business and feedback. we have a plan of Cosmetic updates to our property and your suggestion is definitely helpful. Hopefully on your next visit you will find some change
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean enough but in need of renovation

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cons: Carpeting , front lobby ethetics
Location: Convenient to Theatre and other atractions
The staff was friendly, continental breskfast was good enough for the price but the place badly needs a facelift. Carpet is old and very worn. If that sort of thing doesn't bother you then the price is fair. Bed linens looked clean and fresh. Bathroon looked liked it had had a remodel. Only steps to the second floor, no elevator if stairs are a problem for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hi Angel thank you for your business and feedback we are going to do cosmetic updates in our property and changing of the carpet is the first project we really appreciate your feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashport, Ohio

Convenient location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!
Cons: Nothing (well, the first morning, they ran out of eggs at breakfast)
Location: Location was great. Everything we wanted to do & see was close
The man at the desk was very, very nice. The room was conveniently located on the first floor, the breakfast was good, the coffee was great, the room was clean & comfortable. For the price, we couldn't have done any better! We will definitely stay there again & again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hi Mary thank you for your business and feedback,sorry for the issue that you had on the first morning we will definitely try to fix that issue for future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The location of the hotel was nice and close to everything we wanted to see. It was a holiday weekend so I think the price was higher because of that. Our room was directly next to the hallway door which is probably the worst room because you hear the door open and shut constantly. The a/c didn't seem to run through the night and the remote needed batteries. The hotel needs some updating but it is secure and the staff was helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hello thank you for your business and feedback we are sorry for that you were not happy we will work on the issues that you had so that it would not be repeated again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Needs more work

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The manager was very pleasant & accomodating. We were a party of 12 & after the Sight & Sound night performance, he allowed us to use their lobby with set up tables & chairs for our meal! The room looks like it was painted & newish & pillows. My friend's room smelled of urine. They switched her room & the next room also had a smell which she was able to get rid of by pushing the AC so room very cold. If they replace all the carpets & lighten up the color of the lobby, I would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
hello Maria Thanks for your business and feedback,we are sorry that your friend was not happy, we have plans of the cosmetic updates on our property in this slow season. we will work hard to fix the issues
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The only reason we stayed here is because expedia over booked us at another motel.they found days in for us for the same price but I wouldn't pay 50 a night
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by dp, Hotel Management
Hi Mr. Butch Thanks you for your business and feedback we are sorry that you were not happy we will work hard to fix the issues