Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Home away from home

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Comfort, sitting area that was comfortable not just a chair or two.
Cons: Air conditioning was a little on the warm side.
Location: Very close to nearby activities of all sorts. I like the location, near to everything but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.
I had a wonderful stay at Hawthorne. The service, staff and rooms were wonderful. The air conditioning was a little on the warm side. Maybe just needs some Freon. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will recommend this hotel to my friends. Needless to say I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spartansburg, PA

Very nice hotel, Great Breakfast, Nice rooms!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Very spacious room, nice breakfast
Cons: doors need to insulate against hallway noises much better. Staff shouldn't be loud and boisterous in the hallways so early.
Location: Located in Lancaster. We wanted to do a trip around the area but failed to find anything worthwhile there. We stayed the night then moved on
Our room was a single queen bed but also had a loveseat and sofa chair in it. It had a separate seat and mirror for doing makeup in the morning outside of the bathroom which was very convenient. The door to the room did not go to the floor though, so you can hear every single noise outside your room in the hallway, including a group of children that kept running up and down. We woke up at around 8:20 am when people in the hall wouldn't stop talking and laughing outside our room. It turned out to be housekeeping and they began vacuuming the room next to ours at this time. The walls are paper thin, so there was no going back to sleep after that. Everything else was great. There were a few stains on the loveseat and the sofa chair, but otherwise the room was clean. They had a great breakfast too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a good price point

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great location, clean, affordable and pet friendly. Perfect place for our overnight stay in Lancaster. Can't beat it for the price point. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel but loud traffic noise

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Have stayed several times at this hotel Rates are reasonable but finding the traffic noise is becoming enbarable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southeast

Convenient Location in Lancaster

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Good location, good breakfast, ok rooms
Cons: Highway noise is a problem and rooms could stand some updating.
Location: In heart of Lancaster, convenient to Sight and Sound Theater and to other Amish Country sites. One and one-half hours to Gettysburg and Philly.
Hotel was reasonably priced and had a great breakfast. Staff was friendly too. Only reason it is not rated higher is because of the highway noise that impacted sound sleep. Our room was facing the busiest road and on the third floor. Lower floors on the other side of the hotel may be quieter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I liked the hotel,but the noise of truck traffic from the very close highway was a problem when trying to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: staff
location between two highways - a lot of traffic noise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long Island NY

Great stay!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
It was a short stay but we will be back! Staff was great! Breakfast was good with really good anytime coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Nice facility close to attractions.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast choices. Friendly staff member. Area kept neat and clean. Convenient for my purposes.
Cons: My only negative would be the enterance and exit from Rt. 30. You can only exit one direction. Not sure this could ever be remedied.
Met my expectations. Room very clean and maintained during my 3 night stay. Staff very friendly and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laurel,MD

Disgusted

Posted Jul 24, 2016
I used to look forward staying at this hotel and promoted to friends. After my last stay it became my last time to stay there. I spoke to the front desk on several occasions the one night I stayed there. The guest above me had children who continued to jump up and down until 11:00pm. I spoke again to the front desk that morning and was assured that Trudy the manger was aware of my situation and will be contacting me. I NEVER heard from her. I spent $120 for the night to listen to a roudy family jump over my head. I also had a young child with me who couldn't go to sleep because of the noise. Since my concern wasn't of great concern to the Manager, when I visit Lancaster I will find another hotel and will no longer tell anyone about this hotel since money is more that guest comfort.