Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great hotel close to F and M campus

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Love the location to F and M College (my daughter is a freshman there) as well as the uniqueness of the hotel.
Cons: Could hear everything in room next door....
Location: Great restaurant in the hotel, John J. Jeffries, with farm to table food, as well as Checkers right next door is also excellent.
Love this hotel! Very unique with beautiful brick and exposed beams, vaulted ceilings. Very clean and beds were super comfortable. Would definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cool hotel!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, the breakfast, staff very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Change of pace in Lancaster

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Everything is unique and lovely, from the orange scented bathroom toiletries, fluffy robes, a wine cooler, glasses and coffee maker. Loved the art!
Cons: The rooms have individual thermostats for the heat or air conditioning. Unfortunately, our room had a persistent buzz, not enough to keep me awake.
Location: This hotel is just down the street from Franklin and Marshall College, and a few minutes from James Buchanan's home, Wheatland, and downtown Lancaster
We stayed in this hotel, just for one evening, on our way home. We wanted someplace that wasn't a cookie cutter hotel, and away from the main tourist areas. This hotel, an old tobacco factory, with an emphasis on interesting art work, most of it for sale, and unique, beautiful furnishings, fit the bill perfectly. It starts in the lobby, filled with unusual chairs, open stairways, brick and old wooden walls. No large check in counter, but two smaller desks are welcoming. The decor is unique and art driven, from the pictures on the walls in the rooms and hallways, to the elegant headboard and bench in our room, to the mirror in the bathroom. There are fluffy bathrobes, wine glasses, coffee maker, a wine cooler. Even the bathroom toiletries are an unusual orange scent. The art theme is carried out with a doodle pad on the desk, and even to the door magnets asking for privacy or for the room to be made up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel and very close to F&M

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Very clean hotel. There was one trash can that was outside the door entrance on the second floor that was never emptied . Overall it was very nice stay and will differently return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DK

great

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Enjoyed a lot, perfect location, clean, quet and nice hotel. Everything was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Best Lancaster Hotel Available

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Convenient, contemporary, and priced-just-right. We had a family friendly, luxurious experience for an extremely generous rate. Staff was informed and kind, and we were sad to leave!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK stay that could've been great...

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: We liked the decor, the artwork displayed throughout the hotel really adds a nice touch.
Cons: Cleanliness - dust galore, bathroom, tiles were dirty, drinking glass left in bathroom had former guest's toothpaste marks still on the glass - yuck
We only stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel for two nights and did not partake in a lot of activities close to the hotel. We enjoyed our room in the warehouse section of the hotel. Aesthetically it was very pleasing and had everything we needed. However, the cleanliness of the room was not up to the standards we expect at any hotel. The room did not look like it had been dusted for a very long time. Drinking glasses beside the bed were so dusty that when we filled them with water from the complimentary water bottles it looked like there were floaties in the water. The bathroom was also dirty - shower stall tiles had mold and stains in the grout near the bottom, drinking glass in the bathroom had former guest's toothpaste imprint still on it - yuck. Breakfast as well was ok - but not great - 1st morning there was no fresh fruit - there were a couple of bruised apples and shrunken oranges - 2nd morning the fruit was not yet ripe - bananas were impossible to open. Bread was ok if you toasted it, but too stale to eat untoasted. This made a potentially "great" stay just an "ok" stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Second time staying at this hotel and every time is a unique and pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Point Comfort, Texas

OK but won't stay again

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Nice bathroom, comfortable bed
Cons: Cleaning the rooms
Location: Bars, Restaurants,Bars, Historical Landmarks
The Lancaster is a decent place to stay,the location is good if you are mostly attracted to historic downtown Lancaster and want a place within easy walking distance to downtown. I had a studio room with a queen size bed,HD TV with HBO, bathroom had a large shower, but no bathtub. All the usual amenities, ie, soaps,lotion,shampoo,conditioner,shower cap,blow dryer, and plenty of towels.The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows. Amenities included a small wine fridge, coffeemaker, iron, and turn down service.The bathroom was clean, but the room itself had not seen a dust rag in some time. I left my room for about 10 minutes around 5:30 PM, came back to my room to find that the turn down service had happened. Not the normal turn down though, as the bed was not straightened nor was it turned down. There were 2 chocolates laying on the edge of the bed, and a rose in a plastic pouch, that you can take with you for a fee.The staff were friendly enough, and my room reservation was correct.They also serve free breakfast,but it looked unappetizing and selections very limited,so I gave that a skip as well. The hotel has a restaurant but I chose to eat at another place so can't give a review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomall PA

They put a rose on the door for us

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Surprised with a fresh rose on the door after we went out. Great hotel