Ratings based on 1,911 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Disappointed to say the least

Posted Aug 6, 2017
This is supposed to be a non smoking facility and we booked a non smoking room. As soon as we opened the door I had an asthma attack due to the reek and stench of smoke. After we got another room we noticed that the bedsheets, pillows and towels all felt wet due to the air conditioner had been left on full bore but did not have a dehumidifier on it. There was mold in the newly remodeled shower, the floors were sticky and made your socks turn black when you walked on it. It was obvious that they hadn't cleaned the rooms. We killed 2 large spiders and there was a large web on one of the lights on the wall. It remained there the entire three days we were there so they really don't clean. I tried to cancel the third of our days and was told that we could leave but there would be no refund for the last night. When we returned to the hotel after being out all day, I pulled back the blankets on my bed and found a baby spider, dirt and a long curly brown hair...I'm a redhead, so it definitely was not mine. Gross. They had not changed the sheets. Also I was very thankful that I brought my own pillow because the ones they provided had stains all over them. Also the ice machine had mold in it, even inside the ice. I will not be returning to this hotel when I travel to Lancaster again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Awesome staff willing to help you in all our needs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new brunswick, nj

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: The room needs much improvement as well as bathroom
Was disappointed, I made a reservation online from NJ, when I got there I went to the wrong one and was disappointed with the hotel, so I cancelled, then found out that I actually had mistakenly cancelled, like 5 minutes later I went to the one I wanted to stay at, and they could not give me the same rate and that really irritated me, cause in a span of a few minutes we had to pay more, our room was not as expected for the rate we paid, bathroom was not as clean, the border on the wall was coming out and it looked dingy. The air quality was poor, just not pleased with the hotel, the room nor the price for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A few issues

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The refrigerator didn't work, broken door lock cover, and the bed was very soft, worn out, and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The staff was very friendly, but I guess the rooms were just a little stark for my taste. Also the free breakfast was not really worth going to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by marlene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by David

No Bargain!!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Due to health issues I had to hand off to a friend who filled in for me. What she described was shocking! Live bugs in the room; dirty sheets; dimly painted walls and poor service at the front desk. She was also afraid to step outside for a smoke, due to the "savory" looking people hanging about. She ( and I) would not recommend this Red Roof Inn to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Work Getaway

Posted May 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Affordable, clean, recently renovated rooms in a good location.
Cons: Small maintenance details, door locks, screens, etc. Absolutely need to improve the breakfast choices so it doesn't look so barren and stingy.
I took some clients to the Lancaster area to enjoy the sights. I had stayed at the Red Roof before and found it reasonably priced, clean and conveniently located. The rooms were recently renovated and clean but the door locks were somewhat broken, as were the window screens. My clients and I are mature individuals and we were paired on either side with young drinkers on vacation that were up late and quite noisy. We were also charged a fee for the safe?? to be reimbursed if not used. I did not use the safe and haven't seen the reimbursement yet. The hotel always provided a pleasant breakfast variety. Not recently. The choices were very few. I was told they only provide the good breakfast on the weekends now. I was mildly disappointed with this visit. I do believe I will begin to look for another reasonably priced, clean place to stay in this area.
5 out of 5
by Charles

Lancaster stay over

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Always stay at this hotel as a half way point in our trips. We love both the Sight & Sound theater and AMT. this hotel is minutes away. Good dining such as Historic Revere Tavern are also within minutes. Hotel itself has first class breakfast. Homemade waffles are great. Rooms/ staff were also first class