Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel is really at the best location and we enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in town.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The rooms in this hotel are being upgraded, when completed this will be a nicer place to stay. Our room was shabby though you could see that it was probably nicely done up 20 years ago. The bathroom also needed replacing. I had read the reviews and so this was not a surprise. The hotels very convenient location was more important to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsbridge, Devon

Nice hotel with plenty to do nearby

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: n/a
Location: Right in the heart of town, there is an interesting museum nearby and the old prison/castle is also open for visit
Lovely, comfy, four poster bed. Pretty dining room with a minstrel's gallery and an excellent breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

What a dump

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff were very nice
Cons: Everything
Location: Loved the Town Great Place Street market was amazing
This was a very disappointing hotel. Not clean Not comfortable. Bed disgrace. Room was filthy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east cheshire

Rather old and undergoing refurbishment

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, location, large room - very enjoyable
Cons: They are doing a refurbishment and when that is done it will be very good indeed
Location: We were lucky to arrive when there was an excellent market just over the road, the castle is very close, a short walk to the riverside
But that did not disturb us at all - a lovely old building ideally situated for the centre of town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield

Room large but smelled of smoke tatty

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Room not great smelly dated Lancaster great place this hotel could be great if only
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Hotel with a history

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: I loved the big rooms, high ceilings and big windows on the first floor / dining bar area. I was also very pleased that the hotel had its own car par
Cons: Nearly everything in the bedrooms
Location: Location is perfect. You are in the town but not quite the noisiest area. Everything in town within a few minutes walk.
I cannot fault any of the staff, always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is run down and the furniture etc is dated and worn. However this adds to the charm a little. Cleanliness is the most important issue for me, and I was happy with that. The hotel is currently being updated, so I look forward to staying there again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok close to station and in middle of town

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Fine for one night stop over as going on steam train hotel very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Needs decorating

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very basic. Needs a thorough clean and decorating throughout. Basic conveniences not included - no hairdryer in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In badly need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Front of hotel looks charming and inviting.But not so did out room. Plain white old wallpaper, peeling off walls and ceiling, floor carpet patched with a tape,stains and dirt on doors and tiles, everything looks tired It all leaves quite unpleasant feeling . Full breakfast looked same tired and not fresh as did the room.