Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Hotel with a history

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: I loved the big rooms, high ceilings and big windows on the first floor / dining bar area. I was also very pleased that the hotel had its own car par
Cons: Nearly everything in the bedrooms
Location: Location is perfect. You are in the town but not quite the noisiest area. Everything in town within a few minutes walk.
I cannot fault any of the staff, always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is run down and the furniture etc is dated and worn. However this adds to the charm a little. Cleanliness is the most important issue for me, and I was happy with that. The hotel is currently being updated, so I look forward to staying there again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok close to station and in middle of town

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Fine for one night stop over as going on steam train hotel very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Needs decorating

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very basic. Needs a thorough clean and decorating throughout. Basic conveniences not included - no hairdryer in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In badly need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Front of hotel looks charming and inviting.But not so did out room. Plain white old wallpaper, peeling off walls and ceiling, floor carpet patched with a tape,stains and dirt on doors and tiles, everything looks tired It all leaves quite unpleasant feeling . Full breakfast looked same tired and not fresh as did the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfy old fashioned central hotel with character

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We just needed a bed for the night before an open day at the university and weren't expecting much because of the other reviews, but my son and I actually quite liked the experience. Yes it's in need of a facelift but rooms are spacious, comfortable and there is plenty of hot water. All we needed and the staff were nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Cheap and convenient

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Needs refurb but cheap and has great staff. Handy for town and train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Nice hotel near the castle

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Stayed here last weekend. Receptionist was pleasant and helpful. She told us we had a lovely view of the castle from our window. Only problem we couldn't see out the windows as they were manky. We were out all day after checking in until returning to hotel just before 11. Barman was polite talkative and courteous. We would stay here again. We only want to put our heads down for a night. The bedroom was clean enough and the bed was comfy. What more do you want!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse hotel......

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The decor, the bathrooms, the cleaning.... I could go on
Location: The only good thing
This was definitely the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The room was filthy, the mattress extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom tap didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Ok

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great location and staff. Tired, needs updating. Can't say any more than that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Would not stay here again without upgrades.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The staff were very polite and helpful.
Cons: In my opinion the hotel needs significant improvement and maintenance works.
Location: City center location a short walk from train and bus stations. Ideal for a night out in the city.
The room was not cleaned to an acceptable standard for example the bathroom floor was sticky but this was a minor fault compared to the standard of the mattress. My wife and i could feel every single spring. The only reason we had any sleep was we had been for a night out in the city and returned after a good meal and several beers. The next morning i complained to the manager who stated i should have said something earlier and they could have switched our room. Fair comment but in a hotel, such as this, i do not believe anyone should have had to encounter this issue in the first place. There is evidence of a lack of maintenance such as damp in the hotel bar restroom and threadbare carpets on the stairs. It is quite sad to see a once prestigious hotel slide into such disrepair especially one in such a prime location.