Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff drafted and shabby rooms

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The staff were lovely and couldnt help you enough. But the rooms are so dated and tired. I asked to move room as the first one was unbarable and they moved me straight away with no issues at all. Looks like some money is being put into the hotel in the bar area etc but if you are staying over I'm afraid I would t recommend. The heating also seems to be an issue some area of the hotel are freezing while others were far to hot and like a sauna. The pink chicken served at lunch wasn't the best either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Royal Kings Arms, Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, I am sorry you were not entirely happy with you stay. We are in the process of renovating the heating system so hopefully the issues you experienced will soon be over. I am a little confused about the pink chicken at lunch as we are not open for lunch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Very central, not much room on car park, however t

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cons: charge for car park (£5) some of the paint could do with attention.
Hotel a bit dated, although it suited the style of décor, loved the old lift. Staff were great. room lovley and warm, will revisit in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenient

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Its an old hotel but the management are trying to make improvements to compete with modern competitors. Service was excellent. Price was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Old fashioned but very quaint. Clean. Room old but very comfortable. A good hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in the centre of town

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Excellent breakfast. Room on main road through Lancaster so was very noisy and rooms not very soundproof.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Ideal location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
This hotel needs considerable investment to bring it up to an acceptable standard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Some DR A in my bed.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Black public hairs in bed that didn't belong to me.Staff were very good and gave me another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel is really at the best location and we enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in town.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The rooms in this hotel are being upgraded, when completed this will be a nicer place to stay. Our room was shabby though you could see that it was probably nicely done up 20 years ago. The bathroom also needed replacing. I had read the reviews and so this was not a surprise. The hotels very convenient location was more important to us.
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Cheap and cheerful in great location

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Decent price for a central location with decent wifi and parking. The rooms are a quite old and dated, but it kind of adds to the charm.