Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

5 star staff and location

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Pros: Brilliant staff
Cons: Total refurbishment, top to bottom, which is currently underway. Please include the heating system, which fried me alive even during the recent snow!
Location: For location, it cannot be beaten: the town, shops, theatres, train station and bus station are all on your doorstep
Yes, this hotel is in dire need of refurb and they’ve got the builders in at the moment, but I knew both facts before I booked. My room was tatty but perfectly comfortable, quiet and good value, with generous-sized bathroom and plentiful hot water (heating system VERY hot, as other travellers have noted: I couldn’t turn the radiator off in my room though could in the bathroom, which helped a bit). But the uniformly delightful, helpful, professional and friendly staff made my stay a total pleasure and I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Georgia , Hotel Management
Hello, With regards to the heating, as we install new heaters air gets trapped in the pipes, this then causes the heaters to either turn off fully, or heat up to high, we are trying everything we can to resolve this issue. I am glad however that the other aspects of our hotel delighted you. We look forward to welcoming you again, Kind regards , Georgia Evans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Short and sweet visit

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Staff, food and bedroom (See above)
Cons: The plumbing but all is being up dated. Parking could be a problem if it becomes popular but I am certain that the management are aware of this
Location: Lake District, Carnforth station, Lancaster Castle- mORCAMBE!
We enjoyed our stay. The staff were most polite and helpful even though we foolishly arrived on the wrong day. The hotel is undergoing a refurbiishment bit this did not impinge on our enjoyment. the room was delightful- a little tired but very grand and comfortable. The breakfast was generous and served by a polite and friendly staff member.who catered for our every need. If all goes according to plan this will be a superb place to stay in the future. It is characterful, rather grand and deserves to be 'peopled' again. Excellent staff excellent food and stunning interiors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by Georgia Evans, Reception. , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. That is correct we are certainly undated the plumbing in time. We look forward to you staying again with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Just what we were looking for.

Posted Dec 23, 2017
We just needed somewhere to lay our heads for one night, and this was fine. Clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff. Only one complaint: the hot water was extremely hot straight from the tap. I almost burned my hand when visiting the bathroom during the night, and there was no warning given. Otherwise, very happy, and the room was reasonably priced. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, many thanks for your review to our recent stay with us and I am so sorry you experienced such issues with the hot tap. I am however delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the whole and look forward to seeing you again in the future
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Don't stay here terribly they upgraded me to this the other room was small and horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, many thanks for your recent review relating to your stay with us. I would like to offer my sincere apologise for what you have experienced with us. Our hotel is currently undergoing a full refurbishment and I would be honoured if you can consider a return to us upon completion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sentralt hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: Atmosfæren og historien
Cons: Nå er jo hotellet under oppussing, så jeg tror nesten besøk blir en opptur på faselitetene
Location: ALT er bare et par minutters gange fra hotellet
Vi har brukt dette hotellet tidligere og har hatt gode opplevelser her. vi visste på forhånd om at det var et gammelt hotell som var litt slitent, men for oss hadde det en kjempefin atmosfære som vi satte høyere. Hotellet er nå under oppussing, og vi gleder oss til å komme tilbake til sommeren for å se hvor langt de har kommet , og om vi kan benytte oss av det som er nytt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Georgia Evans,, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback, all reviews are welcomed. Kind regards Georgia Evans.