Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kilmaurs

Lovely hotel close to the city centre

Posted Nov 15, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for one night in Nov on our way back up to Scotland. We weren’t disappointed it’s a gem of a place. The room was large and spotless the bed was very comfortable and had plenty of pillows , the bathroom was spotless with huge fluffy towels. The breakfast was free and there was lots to choose from we had the poached eggs which were cooked to perfection all in all a gem of a place which I would reccomdnd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel on canalside, and close to City Centre

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Newly-refurbished Toll House Inn is cosy, friendly and an ideal location for city centre or canalside walks. Trendy panelling, woollen throws, retro lamps and phones and mismatched upholstered chairs, give the place a lovely relaxed feel and the staff are extremely helpful. I highly recommend the hotel, however my dinner of pork rib-eye was a disappointment as it was very tough...other diners had chosen more wisely, I think! The Fish and Chips looked good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Lovely hotel, great location.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Everything, we weren't disappointed. The décor is lovely.
Cons: Temperature of the breakfast.
Location: Brilliant location close to centre, shops and bars. We were visiting Lancaster for the Brewery Tour given as a gift for my husband.
Lovely interior after renovation work. Superb location. The exterior of the building is covered in scaffolding, it is clear that the continuing renovation work is continuing and will look amazing when finished. Room was lovely and comfortable, clean and bright. Comfortable and welcoming bar. Breakfast was provided, the only criticism we would have is that the breakfast could have been hotter! The bar staff also need to learn how to serve a gin and tonic, which was a little plain. All in all, we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballyclare. Co Antrim

Perfect location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We had a fantastic time staying at The Toll House Inn. Beautifully renovated rooms and good food. Close to our granddaughter at Uni and beautiful canal walks. We will definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Food was very good good choice of beers breakfast was very good staff very polite and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milford, mi

Can't Wait to Return!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambiance, location. All good and beyond our expectations. There was even a small sitting area in the room. Great shower.
Cons: Prospective guests should be alerted to the remodeling taking place.
Location: Excellent location across from a canal where there are walking paths and pubs along the water. Small narrow boats are moored there and sometimes pass
The hotel is going through a complete remodeling being done tastefully, making it a stylish and lovely place. Fortunately the remodeling currently is only on the exterior so it doesn't affect very much the experience of staying there. It is refreshing to stay in a place where everything is fresh and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cozy and warm with very accommodating staff. Amazing breakfast and lunch/dinner menu.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Covered in scaffolding

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Hotel cancelled booking due to building work on the ROOF
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dudley

Will Return to Sample The Final Product

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location and the overall character together with commitment to a quality experience for their guests.
Cons: Hopefully the 2017 bedroom refurbishment will address any issues we could raise.
Location: Lancaster Castle & Prison (about 10 minutes' walk), the town museum and canal cruises. Plenty of shopping minutes away. Lake District in easy reach.
Our latest visit was an overnight stay in early August after the recent change to the Toll House. Previously we stayed at the Penny Street Bridge version. The difference? Refurbished common areas and higher prices. Worth it? Certainly. The refurbishment has freshened the place up and made it look lighter and more open. Yes, the food prices are higher but our Saturday evening meal was worth every penny. Not only was the food delicious, but my wife, who requires gluten free food, was very well looked after. Believe me, that goes a long way to make our breaks relaxed and enjoyable. A range of real ales from the region are offered and a good wine list to suit most pockets is available too. The staff were, as always, lovely - always friendly and helpful. The room? Comfortable but showing its age, so no wonder this year sees the bedrooms being refurbished. My wife and I have never had cause to complain about our stays in their accommodation. Each room is charmingly full of character and different. We hope they keep it that way. The hotel is well-placed near the centre of town, although adjacent parking is limited (best to book) which means a nearby public car park has to be used instead if you miss out. It's about 15 minutes or so walk from the railway station should you need the exercise, and no more than 5 minutes or so from the central shopping area. Across the road is the canal and various boat trips or walks along it. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from manchester

Town center hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
lovely hotel,excellent staff. restaurant and food very good. Near town center and canal,had a great overnight stay.