Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Old fashioned hotel which requires a serious make over for the price charged .
5 out of 5
by Ron from USA

Nice hotal on the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
We had a nice stay here. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the main area of town and was directly on the beach. We opted for the non ocean view, but actually had a lovely view of the church. The room was an average size for France, comfortable and clean. The people at reception were very courteous and friendly. Because it was a holiday weekend, we were given the breakfast buffet, which was lovely and had lots of options. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Le Mans, France

Good hotel location but needs updating

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Bathrooms, beds and television system
Location: Clse to Arcachon, backs onto the beach. Pilat/Pyla sand dunes close by and a definite must to see. Also easy to get into Bordeaux by train.
Lovely location but parking is very limited, and there is very little on the crowded roads nearby. Rooms are adequate but the bathrooms are very tired and the beds not that comfortable. The Television set up is the worst we've seen anywhere, and we've stayed in many hotels., and really needs sorting out. Restaurant is excellent with wonderful views over the sea. The patio area allows direct access to the beach which is an excellent facility. Walking into the centre of Arcachon takes a good 10 minutes, although there is a small convenience store and bakers near by. Arcachon itself is excellent seaside resort offering a large variety of restaurants, bars, shops and a market etc. with entertainment on various days.
5 out of 5
by Nessa

Right on the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel Les Vagues is a short walk out of the main centre of Arcachon following the main beach strip. Our room was at the front of the hotel (facing the road and away from the sea. Road not at all noisy. Rooms at the front looked absolutely gorgeous and HUGE! Our room was on the first floor. There is an elevator to get bags upstairs but steps up to reception. Buffet breakfast was included in the package we got and was nice, typical French fare. Eggs you can boil yourself, toast, prune cake, cold meats, fruit, pastry etc. From the breakfast/dining room there is a spectacular view of the sea, a small veranda outside the breakfast room has steps down onto the beach (also tap and shower for coming back from the beach with sandy feet.) Nice quiet stretch of beach outside the hotel. You can walk the whole way to the dunes should you be so inclined (fair warning: very soft sand makes it difficult to walk due to sinking feet but gorgeous to lie out on) Staff all very nice and helpful. Free parking available in from of the hotel on first come first served (about 10 spaces)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Parking situation.
Location: All restaurants, swimming in the sea.
The hotel are at the beach in Arcachon. Nice place, good staff. The rooms vere cleaned very late in afternoon. Breakfast was god and a lot.
5 out of 5
by Alain

Deux nuits sans vagues

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
L'hotel est une ancienne maison 1900 transformée en hotel de manière un peu curieuse. Acceuil très sympa. Bon conseil pour les restos (chez Yvette). La vue sur le bassin au petit déjeuner est juste extraordinaire. Dommage que le petit dej soit un peu cher. Quartier très calme et résidentiel. Prix/nuit raisonnable: Une super adresse.
1 out of 5
by Xavier

hôtel nul

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
l'hotel est nul
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bordeaux

Hotel très bien situé ,les pieds dans le sable

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Séjour parfait , petit déjeuner de rêve face au bassin d'Arcachon !
3 out of 5
by Laurent from Bordeaux

Déçu

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre petite, rapport qualité/prix pas à la hauteur.