Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Derbyshire

Good location for shuttle

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Fresh smelling laundry
Cons: Better sound proofing. I could hear the guest in the next room snoring, which kept me awake most of the night.
Location: Good for northern Normandy coast and shuttle. Several beaches within 15 to 30 minutes drive. Small supermarket nearby with fuel at reasonable price.
Stayed just one night prior to returning to UK on the shuttle, after touring around France. It was easy to find although we had to plan our day well to enable us to make the two hour window available for checking in. The room was well presented and sheets and towels smelt freshly laundered. If taking a dog be sure to email the hotel directly so that she can reserve a ground floor room also be aware that the charge might be more than stated. Information we had said it was €5 but we were charged €10. Didn't stay for breakfast but it looked fairly standard for France with croissants, preserves, juice and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Sheffield UK

Rural retreat only 10 miles from the ferry.

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: The low ceiling over the shower
Location: Very rural location.
Located about 10 miles from Calais, but a million miles from the standard tourist hotels. This is a really charming, very small hotel, housed in a converted barn. Our room was in the roof space, with lots of exposed beams and old world charm. Mind your head in the shower. Very friendly, helpful people, who made us feel very much at home. Good breakfast. A very pleasant end to our holiday in France. One of the nicest places we stayed.
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Henry from UK

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
We only stayed one of the two nights booked due to this being a converted barn rather than a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Gosport, Hampshire, UK

Overnight family stay

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: Position and charm
Location: Quiet, rural location with bar/restaurant and supermarket/garage nearby.
We were very impressed with the charm and friendliness of the owner. Very welcoming. We were very pleased to find a Brasserie/bar across the road to have dinner without having to use the car. Also within 5 mins in the car there is a petrol station and small Carrefour. The continental breakfast is an extra but very nice. A very pleasant stay in an attractive building and we would be happy to return.
5 out of 5
by PAH

An excellent find

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels
An ideal spot to stay when making a quick visit to France via the Eurotunnel. Very friendly welcome from the owner who kindly cooked us a meal even though we had forgotten to request food when booking. Very relaxed atmosphere. Only 4 rooms but bedrooms a very good size with lots of character. Easy drive from Calais. Will definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
by oldlozzer

Posted Dec 14, 2012 on Hotels
A 'chambre d'hote' really. Excellent service, and a very good evening meal (which must be booked in advance), including a small but well formed wine list. The room was clean and simple, the bathroom with a large bath. Kettle and tea and coffee provided. No TV in the room, but a large one in the guest lounge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from London

Great place for Calais stop-over

Posted Nov 1, 2012
This is a lovely B&B a 10 minute drive from Calais. The owner speaks perfect English, is charming and enormously helpful. We booked a family room which was comfortable and spacious. The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Davies family

Perfect stop over location

Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay at Chantebise was wonderful. As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed and we felt our holiday had already begun even though we had 8 hours driving the next day to our final destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great for a stopover en route to and from Tunnel

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Lovely conversion of old rural building. Room had personal access to car park and was tastefully furnished and clean. Continental style breakfast all very freshly prepared. Good English spoken if needed and very helpful and friendly service. Area convenient though possibly not very interesting or scenic for a long stay.