Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Fantastic Hotel/B&B

Posted Nov 2, 2017
This is by far and away one of the most plesant B&B/Hotels I have sayed at in a long time. Recently re-furbished, the decor and standards of finish are pretty amazing, rooms are a good size and the furnishings are of excellent quality. The owner was warm and welcoming when we arrived and spent time giving us advice on the local restaurants, pubs and attractions. Breakfasts were very good, with a wide choice of options, everything from a traditional English, American pancakes, kippers, kedgeree or continental. Just be aware that is is awkward to get cars to the Hotel's carpark, but that is the nature of Penzance's super-narrow streets - nothing the Hotel can do about that. I got my mid-size SUV in there, just, but anything bigger and you'll get well and truly stuck. Anyway, that is just nitpicking, I cannot recommend Camilla House highly enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ordinary B and B

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was an okay stay.
5 out of 5
by Allyson

Fabulous place

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
We were very happy with our stay at Camilla House. It is very elegant and tastefully decorated throughout. There was an extensive breakfast menu ranging from kedgeree to pancakes . Again the breakfast room was immaculately set out. In the room there was a good range of teas coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits. A nice touch was the chocolate mint creams which were put in the room daily. Fee, who owned the house, was very friendly and gave lots of advice on the best bars and restaurants etc. If anyone is thinking of visiting Penzance I would highly recommend staying at Camilla House. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Lovely house, great base to explore West Cornwall

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Excellent host, beautifully appointed rooms and breakfast area. Scrumptious breakfasts. Very helpful with advice on local restaurants ( Tolcarne Inn was great) and things to see and do. Would recommend to others
4 out of 5
by Peter

An Aussie in UK

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was most enjoyable and Fee did everything she could to make us comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient, friendly & welcoming

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, comfortable room
Location: Coastal Path from Penzance to Porthleven is a MUST!
We enjoyed our stay at Camilla House. It is in a great location, right near the waters-edge and close to town for dinner. Fiona, the host, provided great recommendations on where to eat in Penzance and nearby towns. The breakfast has many great options and the room was clean and comfortable. Nothing to fault with Camilla House!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Such a lovely getaway!

Posted May 11, 2017
We loved our stay at the Camilla House! Fiona made sure we were very comfortable and had what we needed to make the most of our stay in Penzance, breakfasts were amazing and exactly to order, the view was awesome, and it was a close walk to many sights (i.e., gardens, art museum, and the waterfront) and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spotless hotel standard guest house

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here for three nights in the single room on the ground floor and I had an absolute fabulous stay. The house has recently been refurbished I understand but it was clear that the owner keeps the place spotless; the shine was not only due to recent refurbishment. The owner, Fee, was very friendly and very accommodating. She arranged for gluten free options for breakfast and she even arranged for me to accompany the local walking club on a hike, which unfortunately I had to decline due to a bad knee, but I very much appreciated the invite. The single rooms are on the small side but you have everything you need. I had some of the best sleep I have ever had and I really appreciated the small details such as the comfy robe, lotion and shampoo etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Bright and cheery B&B

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Location: The guest house makes a good base to explore the area. Many sights are less than an hour away. The town center & restaurants are walking distance.
Staff was friendly and helpful; B&B was bright and cheery; location was handy to walk to town and to roads out of town. Only complaint is our room and en suite bathroom were very small and difficult to move around in. An overweight person would not be able use this room. I think the other rooms are larger so guests should request one of them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay in Penzance

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at Camilla House before and really enjoyed it. This time we think it was even better. Our host was wonderful. Breakfasts were superb, We visited villages in the area and really enjoyed the experience.