Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Aus

lovely location room overlooking bay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: location, room atmosphere
Cons: directions to find the hotel
Location: St Ives, Charbel beach and close to highways
had a lovely 4day stay, our room overlooked the bay, lovely walk down to beach, parking good harty breakfast. Martin helpful with the bags and advice about the area, unfortunately it rained for most of the time but it was a pleasant and convenient stay. Very convenient to supermarket and restaurants, and easy access to the main roads to explore Cornwall
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Great location, near train.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very helpful owner Loved walking along coast trail to St.Ives, and taking the train back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Good location for hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Its location, St Ives was only about a mile or so away.
Location: The area has plenty of various activities that suite all age groups.
The owner.s of the hotel made us feel very welcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location, close to station and beach

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice hotel, really friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and functional albeit in need for a refurbishment. Cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared and decent. Our only gripe were the beds. Not comfortable at all. Otherwise enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Is this really 4 star?

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room is tiny, the bathroom even smaller. It seems more like 2 star than 4 star due to a lack of amenities and a tiny space. It needs updating a lot and is a train ride into st Ives rather than a walk. A disappointing stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Warm welcome

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Lovely B&B in a great location, close to the beautiful beach at Carbis Bay. The train station is a 5 minute walk away so you can travel back and forth to St. Ives with ease. Martin, the owner, went out of his way to make us feel welcome and was always very attentive. Great breakfast too! We'd highly recommend The Borthalan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the train station one.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station just one stop from st ives. It is ideal as parking is difficult in the town and much more expensive than the return train fair. The hotel is friendly and clean and the breakfast is delicious. You can come and go as you please and the host is very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice location but don't bother with the top floor

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice location and staff, with a decent breakfast. But the top floor rooms with seaview were absolutely cramped and even charged at a premium. I even accidentally bumped my head on the roof pillar in the bathroom - my fault as there were warning signs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay, lovely location, great host and delicious breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels