Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary HU

Great location hotel in ST Just

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This hotel was very welcoming from the minute we entered, there was many people there but was serve and checked in fast. The introduction to the hotel and room was explained clearly, breakfast was better than expected! great hotel with great staff!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Suitable but nothing to rave about

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Cons: Bathroom build. Add outside light in passage to rooms (side of pub).
Location: Can help - rained all day so did nothing!
Reasonable pub. Omnipresent (in Cornwall) St. Austell's beers. I didn't try bar food. It looked okay to me; good pub grub, not trying to be anything else. I went elsewhere because I wanted somewhere that did local fish meal (not battered!). The only thing I would question is to why there is a daytime and evening menu; both laminated; similar meals; and exactly the same price where meals were the same (ie no primium for eating in the evening). Breakfast was okay. Nothing special. Not great ingredients - but I've had a lot worse. There was that myterious sytle of lowrent sausage that only seems to appear in B & B breakfasts; it looked particularly uninviting as it looked deep fried. Not sure beans were big brand. Mushrooms (fresh and good portion) okay. Bacon okay. Hash brown included which was a good addition. Also tomato included which I didn't have. Bedroom was okay, but not award winning. Quite reasonable size though. Cheap low bed, propped up on extra "stilts". Bathroom was terrible looking. Not unclean but it looked like it had be thrown in the room in a spare day. I am not a great diy-er but I could have done a better job with one hand. Tileing/grouting/spacing was bad. The bath surround dividing tile and bath was unattached because it was too high. Shower was mixer on bath. I managed to get good showers (which made a mess of room because screen was badly fitted) but it looked the type that would change temperature if anyone within a 5 mile radius flushed a toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Pre Wedding Day

Posted May 28, 2017
We found the accommodation just right for what we wanted. Just for the one night. We were greeted in a friendly manner with everything explained to us. The room had been newly decorated. The price was reasonable, it included a full English breakfast. There was plenty of choice for breakfast even if you didn't want the full English breakfast. All the staff were friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice little traditional country style hotel in St

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Big Bathroom!! Comfy Bed!
Cons: Liven up the breakfast staff a bit, but they're also busy, so again, no real complaints.
Location: You're in Cornwall - with all the fun that comes on offer!
Positives - ->Warm and friendly staff - responded promptly when we spoke in regards a late check in. -> Nice welcoming and quiet room with a very comfy bed -> When they said "Big Bathroom" - they meant it!! It was I think the biggest bathroom we'd ever seen. -> Parking was easy to get organised (but I recommend checking with the staff to ensure you park in the right place -> Cracking little coffee shop downstairs Neutrals -> Breakfast was a bit of a random event (difficult to attract attention, and took a bit to get our food arranged) - but once it showed up it was awesome Negatives -> No real negatives. Conclusion: -> We'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room comfortable, clean and warm.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Location only a few minutes away from Cape Cornwall and the Botallack and Leven mines. Access to our room involved going up steep slightly uneven stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel near by beach

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: staffs are good
Cons: change the mattress and free wifi and cheak the recipes of lamb biryani .
Location: location good and last end, Minack Theatre nearby the hotel
experience not bad . it is very close to Minack Theatre. we liked that place too much. we never seen that type of theater. overall not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Friendly hotel very convenient for the airport

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Location: Very convenient for the airport
I experienced a very friendly welcome and was shown to my room. I would warn anyone with mobility problems the stairs are steep but I believe there are rooms which do not necessitate using stairs, so check when booking. Food was plentiful and a good variety for breakfast. I would use the hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The staff was very polite, the heating was excellent,as well the breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not really clean but cheap

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Cheap price
Cons: I didn't like we hadn't got internet in our room just in the pub
Location: Location quite ok, lots of shops and restaurants
No internet connection in the room. Not really clean and quite smelly