Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with beautiful views of the sea.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The rooms were large and comfortable. The bathrooms had modern faucets and the shower was great. Breakfast was great, with lots of choices. Dinner dishes were ok but not great. St Ives is also a fabulous spot with lots of wonderful restaurants, nice beaches, and beautiful vistas. Parking in town is difficult, so staying at a hotel (with parking) is probably the best way to see the place. One factor to keep in mind is that this castle is at the top of a hill, and is a bit of a climb from town. There was no parking in town, so having dinner in St Ives locks you in to climb back to the hotel. We all loved the hotel, and would go back on another visit to Cornwall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich, Norfolk

Overpriced and disappointing

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Location and grounds. Although the grounds were often taken over by wedding parties which requested other guests stay out of way for photographs.
Cons: Better quality furniture and fittings to suit the 21st century traveller. Would be improved with a good deep clean. More healthy choices for breakfast
Location: Location excellent for exploring Cornwall and easy walk into St Ives and beaches.
The lack of basic facilities in the standard and small double room were akin to something from the 1950s which made our 6 night stay feel more like camping: Room smelled musty and dusty, very unpleasant, damp in bathroom and around old chipped fittings, mouldy shower curtain, badly repaired basin (piece of wall tiled clumsily siliconed onto sink near tap). No drawer space to place clothing so this had to remain in suitcase, no convenient space to put suitcases, strange small corner wardrobe with inadequate hanging and storage space, no shelving at all in bathroom for toiletries, poor quality toiletries supplied, better toilet roll found in public lavs. Bedding felt very cheap and although clean was not pleasant. The double bed was very hard and uncomfortable, every time my svelte husband moved in bed he woke me. Carpets were musty and in need of a good deep clean, layers of thick dust seen around edges and under the disproportionately large desk in room. Everything about our room was depressing and we avoided spending time there. The more public areas were slightly better but we did not try the leisure facilities due to most of our stay being overwhelmed by large parties of wedding guests and their short stay visitors in the hotel. Breakfast was just basic, not a luxury experience. Staff were all very pleasant. Hot water took several minutes of running tap to reach room which is wasteful. View from room more like a city student digs. Overall shabby, cheap, depressing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Trophy Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Stunning views. 72 acres to roam. Nice, steep path to St Ives that burns up some calories. Staying in a castle has its pros and cons. For starters it's old and challenging to create a modern standard. The size and scope is impressive. For BnB guests the breakfast experience felt more like a school canteen than a luxury hotel. No matter how you cut it, a buffet is not luxury dining. Our bed was too hard and lumpy to be comfortable and the room was stuffy. I'd encourage the housekeeping staff to look up when cleaning as there was dust and cobwebs in the high ceilings. It never really felt spotlessly clean. Only adequate. At we'll over 700 pounds for three nights it was not great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hilltop views!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Free parking, clean room, and lovely path to town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff very helpful beautiful gardens near the town and beach.Good breakfast.
Cons: Condition of the room was not great ,no safe or fridge. The spa was in bad condition and the steam didn't work properly
Location: Near to a beautiful beach and town centre
The hotel had wonderful grounds ,but the rooms needed updateing. You have to be fit if you took the woodland path but the experience was worth it The hotel was expensive if you didn't use the facilities . Staff were very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Lovely Place, St Ives

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Excellent Hotel. Beautiful grounds, attentive staff, lovely food. Only problem - room far too hot upstairs due to no ventilation (sky lights didn't open).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Hotel in St ives

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Views
Cons: Decor , customer service , cleanliness
Location: Excellent , St ives beautifully.
Overall hotel very dated not what we expected.Stated three nights and changed rooms three times due to air con waking us at 6am , room too small with no air con , third room fine . Hotel staff need to go on a customer service course as service was appalling .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Fantastic grounds and view of St Ives

Posted May 31, 2017
The hotel in set in fantastic grounds with a lovely view of St Ives Bay. Compared to other hotels I've stayed in for similar cost I felt this hotel was very tired and in need of reburbishmdnts throughout however the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a fantastic location to walk into St Ives and visit other places locally by car. The Brassiere offered good quality meals and the staff offered excellent table service, the self serve breakfast offered was ok but the room that offered breakfast was more like a canteen with no atmosphere and a little bleak so we decided despite breakfast being included to pay to eat in the brassiere for breakfast on our second morning. Overall a nice two day break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Brilliant room with lots of space, the beds were very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel had great amenities. Perfect location.
Cons: The hotel restaurant service for our evening meal was slightly poor. They forgot our side order and we waited a long time for our main meal.
Location: St. Ives was beautiful for a wander, lots of lovely restaurants, shops and boat trips etc. available. Two coastal paths nearby for walking.
Stayed here with my mum (50) and my brother (23). We loved the hotel. Golf course was enjoyable, £15 a round. The room was a great size and very comfortable. The swimming pool and spa/sauna area was good fun. I had a massage at Castle Beauty which was very relaxing. The restaurant food was very good although the service wasn't brilliant. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into St. Ives, perfect location. The hotel gardens were very pretty and worth a wander. The lady on reception (Gill?) was extremely helpful and we felt very welcome on arrival. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

No value for money

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It was clean but outdated
Cons: It needs a major facelift Furniture was old and rooms tired
Location: Location is excellent
This hotel is way overpriced for what it delivers. It is far to expensive. The furniture was old and tired. The rooms were the same, old and tird. Too bad for such a beautiful location