Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Comfy bed, good view, good bar, nice roll top bath. Friendly staff.
Cons: Could use a shower fitting on the bath.
Location: Good central location, near to good pubs and restaurants
Nice room with a view of the sea and St.Michael's Mount.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rocketrod from sydney

warm friendly hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Liked the cosy main bar and the food was good plus friendly staff
Cons: For the price and poitioned in historic Chapel St, cannot find anything to improve.
Location: Location couldn't be better. Set in Chapel St. there is always something of interest and close to the main town street plus a close walk to harbour.
Our second visit to The Union. We stayed for one week and we just love its warm and friendly atmosphere. Set in Chapel street with lots of interesting cafes and shops plus a short walk to the seafront.
2 out of 5
by TeacherRetirees from Paris, France

Noisy hotel devoid of charm

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
The worst part was the noisy bar in the space below us. A very good jazz band played until a reasonable late hour. But all night long, it seemed, rowdy folk cavorted in the street below our window. Hardly the bar patrons, who were older and wiser. THEY appreciated the music that they listened to attentively.. I should add that the breakfast was fine and the breakfast server was extremely pleasant. The desk staff was, on the other hand, of the rough and (almost) ready variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon & Bryan from Florida

Lovely Older Hotel - Full of History and Character

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: The personal quality of the service and friendly nature of the hotel were very appealing.
Cons: An old building always has aspects of it that need repair, but nothing about the age of the hotel was a hindrance for us staying there.
Location: Chapel Street is Central in the town of Penzance and the hotel is opposite the Egyptian House. We could walk everywhere in Penzance from the hotel.
We stayed at the Union Hotel in Penzance for 10 days and enjoyed it thoroughly. The location was central and convenient on historic Chapel Street. The hotel itself was full of historical information about Lord Nelson and the Battle of Trafalgar. Original 20th century and contemporary paintings also added to its charm. Our room was quiet and clean with a view of the bay. The staff was friendly, helpful and full of fun. The food served at dinner time was very good. The fact that the Pub was frequented by locals as well as hotel guests made for an interesting mix that we liked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel with lots of character

Posted Sep 9, 2013
This is a hotel that is somewhat run down with lots of character. Don't expect a super comfortable room with plush bed. The rooms are fairly clean but run down. The hotel is old with lots of history. The owner will spin tales of local history and the breakfast is very good. I would stay here again but it's not the kind of place you want to spend a week in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the centre of Penzance

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Great location, excellent breakfasts.
Cons: The room we had (29) was on the top floor had great views was very warm and couldn't leave the windows open seagulls woke us early
Location: Great location within 30 mins drive from St Ives, Lands End. Good shopping area.
Room ready on arrival even though we were early. Excellent breakfasts. Numerous pubs and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel, in good location

Posted Sep 1, 2013
I was very impressed by this hotel, for a little price got an excellent service and a comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Name

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: It has a pleasant air of old-world values and a good sense of history. The breakfast room was a particular delight.
Cons: Keep it just the way it is.
We found the hotel to be comfortable and homely. The staff were cheerful and helpful at all times, and being right in the centre of the old town meant that we we close to all the amenities.
1 out of 5
by Mehdi from UK

Dated hotel with no customer services skills

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Checking out of it. Seriously though, the breakfast was quite good.
Cons: Mattresses that you can sleep on would be a start since it serves a primary function for a hotel!
Location: Lands End was good and St Ives was amazing, all short drives away.
We were somewhat taken aback by the seriously dated room interior, flimsy creaky wooden stools and a bed which had gone flat on one side and had random broken springs on the other. Whilst being disappointed by the customer services skills, we needed an iron and we got one which the owner described in his own words as something Expedia wont allow me to post on this site. We read another review about the strict breakfast timings so got there in plenty of time, but someone arriving a few moments before 9:30 was actually told "as long as you only want a slice of bread, we won't have a problem"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
No shower. Too noise to sleep. It's got the parking spaces. Close to town.