Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean. Gym and sauna was a plus. Only bad thing was that the ceiling on the 4th floor was quite low
3 out of 5
by Krista

Convenient and OK Hotel - great barman!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was perfectly fine for a quick trip to Vienna with no frills and did the job. I wouldn't recommend if you are looking for a 'high end' 4* star hotel. The barman was excellent which created a really nice atmosphere every evening for the guests - very friendly, fun and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Krista, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards from Vienna, Marcel Stöckel Direktionsassistent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, handy for the underground

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: The breakfast was busy and as a result the staff were a little overwelmed
Location: Close to the centre via a couple of easy stops on the underground
Very pleasant hotel, with nice size rooms, pleasant staff and nice decor. Breakfast was plentiful, the coffee was dreadful, that weak grey looking stuff. The bar is nice, comfortable and the chap working the bar is very friendly. The only downside, the rooms were very warm and both my room and the room next door was bothered constantly by what the described as hear a disk cutter running all night in the bathroom. which unless you kept the door closed all the time was enough to keep you awake
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is not wheelchair accessible. First off it's down a pedestrian walkway that is cobblestone and second, there are stairs into the lobby. They have a 'ramp' which is obviously meant for deliveries and too steep to roll up (I'd suspect even for an electric chair, though I use a manual one). I was required to get out of my wheelchair and bum up a set of stairs because their ramp. The reception's solution was to suggest I call them from my american phone incurring long distance charges in order to alert them that I was in need of assistance. Either way, terrible options. The hotel restaurant doesn't have accessible bathrooms so I had to go up to my room during dinner when i needed to use the toilet. The staff did their best to be helpful but were obviously caught off guard and out of their league in solving the situation. if you're in a wheelchair, especially if you're traveling alone, just avoid it all together.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely time in Vienna once we figured out how to use public transportation; this hotel has a lot of European charm. One incident soured our experience at the Biedermeier: I checked out before breakfast and requested a taxi for 10 a.m. The elevators were filled with other guests checking out at that time, and we couldn't get to the lobby until 10:03. When I asked where our cab was, the clerk at the desk (who admittedly was trying to check out several other guests) said frostily, "The cabbie was here at 10." Another cab was dispatched, so all ended well, but not a pleasant memory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mercure Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Best regards from Vienna, Marcel Stöckel Direktionsassistent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient & comfortable (if not so stylish)

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Ive stayed in a mercure hotel before. This doesn't rate as highly as some others though i did just have a brief overnight stay on a business trip. The decor (especially in the rooms) is a little dated for my taste (my OAP parents might prefer). This also goes for the bar & restaurant area, both cosy but not the modern contemporary I'd generally go for. Its in an old building so is a little "hotch-potch" in lay out but overall with clean rooms, friendly staff, nice selection of red wine in the bar & a good breakfast selection I'm not complaining too much. If theres a good deal or the location suits (I wanted to be near the Wein Mitte station for the airport train) then stay. If you want trendy & great bar I prefer the Penta Hotel (albeit further out).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing - much lower then expected

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
I was surprised that service was not as expected. Housekeeping didn't clean the room properly, no vacuum cleaner during the stay (even in case of dust on the floor), very dusty room; very small beds in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel , good service and location

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel , Staff very helpful and privilege room was superb
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room, quite a good breakfast - a good place to stay in Vienna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm with modern touches

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Second time staying here. A lovely hotel with personal service. They helped me arrange for a reasonably priced airport pickup since I arrived late at night. I'll stay here again.